THTR 1111 - Sustainable Fashion - Capps

Librarian for Sociology, MHS and Public Policy Studies

Profile Photo
Pam Morgan

Are you curious about what a research consultation is?

Consultations are driven by YOUR needs, the needs of the researcher. I can help you with the following tasks:

Find the best sources and resources related to your topic, whether they are books, journal articles, databases, or more.

Master the Library’s search tools so you can find what you’re looking for effectively and efficiently.

Discover sources you may have missed in your research to make sure you leave no stone unturned.

To schedule your consult, use the online scheduler!

Finding Sources

What is   ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

I know how to use Google Scholar, so why would I use a database?

A database often has articles and information that are for a specific subject. Examples include EconLit (Economics), Sociological Abstracts (Sociology), Education Full Text (Education), PsycINFO (Psychology).  Plus, databases often have more detailed search interfaces that let you be more precise in your searching.  An example is limiting to scholarly, peer reviewed articles.

Google Scholar is a helpful research tool, but it searches many subjects at once.  Consider using it along with a subject specific database.

 

Also, while Google Scholar has a lot, it doesn't have everything.