2. Research Guides

New Books at Peabody Library: December 2019

New Books in the Main Collection

5 practices for orchestrating productive mathematical discussions
Smith, Margaret Schwan
Call number: QA41.4 .S65 2018

A history of American gifted education
Jolly, Jennifer L., 1972-
Call number: LC3993.9 .J66 2018

About behaviorism
Skinner, B. F. 1904-1990 (Burrhus Frederic),
Call number: BF199 .S54 1976

About language : tasks for teachers of English
Thornburn, Scott, 1950-
Call number: PE1128.A2 T465 2017

All students must thrive : transforming schools to combat toxic stressors and cultivate critical wellness
Howard, Tyrone C. (Tyrone Caldwell)
Call number: LA217.2 .H683 2019

Applied research for sustainable change : a guide for education leaders
Ravitch, Sharon M.
Call number: LB1028.24 .R38 2019

Applying the scholarship of teaching and learning beyond the individual
Call number: LB2324 .A67 2019

Because internet : understanding the new rules of language
McCulloch, Gretchen
Call number: P120.I6 M28 2019

Behavioral activation with adolescents : a clinician's guide
McCauley, Elizabeth
Call number: RJ506.D4 M3195 2016

Beyond "teaching to the test" : rethinking accountability and assessment for English language learners
Gilliland, Betsy, 1973-
Call number: PE1128.A2 G5256 2017

Black ants and buddhists : thinking critically and teaching differently in the primary grades
Cowhey, Mary, 1960-
Call number: LC1099.3 .C699 2006

Books children love : a guide to the best children's literature
Wilson, Elizabeth Laraway.
Call number: Z1037 .W745 2002

Born for love : why empathy is essential--and endangered
Szalavitz, Maia
Call number: BF575.E55 S936 2011

Brewer's dictionary of phrase & fable
Call number: PN43 .B74 2018

College : what it was, is, and should be
Delbanco, Andrew, 1952-
Call number: LA227.4 .D455 2014

Confessions of a spoilsport : my life and hard times fighting sports corruption at an old eastern university
Dowling, William C.
Call number: GV351 .D68 2007

DBT skills in schools : skills training for emotional problem solving for adolescents (DBT STEPS-A)
Mazza, James J.
Call number: RC489.B4 M39 2016

Differentiating instruction and assessment for English language learners : a guide for K-12 teachers
Fairbairn, Shelley,
Call number: PE1128.A2 F245 2019

Discipline over punishment : successes and struggles with restorative justice in schools
Gardner, Trevor, 1975-
Call number: LB3012 .G37 2016

Disrupting and countering deficits in early childhood education
Call number: LB1139.23 .D568 2020

Educational research : planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research
Creswell, John W.,
Call number: LB1028 .C742 2019

English words from Latin and Greek elements
Ayers, Donald M.
Call number: PE1582.L3 A9 1986

Essential skills in family therapy : from the first interview to termination
Patterson, JoEllen
Call number: RC488.5 .E79 2018

First-year composition : from theory to practice
Call number: PE1404 .F55 2014

Formal modeling in social science
Mershon, Carol
Call number: H61 .M4912 2019

Ground crew : the fight to end segregation at Georgia State
Daniels, Maurice Charles, 1952-
Call number: LD1965 .D34 2019

Handbook of research methods in human memory
Call number: BF371 .H38 2019

Higher education in a globalising world : community engagement and lifelong learning
Mayo, Peter, 1955-
Call number: LB2322.2 .M38 2019

How words make things happen
Bromwich, David, 1951-
Call number: P301.5.P47 B76 2019

In an unspoken voice : how the body releases trauma and restores goodness
Levine, Peter A.
Call number: RC552.T7 L483 2010

In the great green room : the brilliant and bold life of Margaret Wise Brown
Gary, Amy,
Call number: PS3503.R82184 Z65 2017

Interventions for individuals with autism spectrum disorder and complex communication needs
Call number: RC553.A88 I579 2019

Kinds come first : age, gender, class, and ethnicity give meaning to measures
Kagan, Jerome
Call number: BF637.L53 K34 2019

Letters to a young therapist : stories of hope and healing
Pipher, Mary Bray.
Call number: RC480.5 .P544 2016

Measuring research : what everyone needs to know
Sugimoto, Cassidy R.
Call number: Z669.8 .S86 2018

Mixed methods for policy research and program evaluation
Burch, Patricia.
Call number: H62 .B854 2016

Moments of truth : a photographer's experience of Kent State 1970
Ruffner, Howard photographer,
Call number: LD4191 .O72 R84 2019

Motivated : designing math classrooms where students want to join in
Horn, Ilana Seidel
Call number: QA11.2 .H65 2017

Posttraumatic play in children : what clinicians need to know
Gil, Eliana
Call number: RJ505.P6

Prairie fires : the American dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder
Fraser, Caroline
Call number: PS3545.I342 Z6455 2018

Pre-K stories : playing with authorship and integrating curriculum in early childhood
Bentley, Dana Frantz
Call number: LB1139.4 .B46 2019

Principles of trauma therapy : a guide to symptoms, evaluation, and treatment
Briere, John
Call number: RC552.P67 B7495 2015

Professional learning in action : an inquiry approach for teachers of literacy
Risko, Victoria
Call number: LB2844.1.R4 R57 2016

Race, sports, and education : improving opportunities and outcomes for black male college athletes
Singer, John N. 1973- (John Nathaniel),
Call number: LC2781 .S553 2019

Reading children's literature : a critical introduction
Hintz, Carrie, 1970-
Call number: PN1009.A1 H555 2019

Research methods in applied behavior analysis
Bailey, Jon S.
Call number: BF76.5 .B35 2018

Restorative justice in the English language arts classroom
Winn, Maisha T.
Call number: LB1576 .W4897 2019

Rise up! : activism as education
Call number: LA229 .R57 2019

School counseling and the student athlete : college, careers, identity, and culture
Zagelbaum, Adam.
Call number: LC2581 .Z34 2014

Science in the city : culturally relevant STEM education
Brown, Bryan Anthony
Call number: LC5129 .B76 2019

Special education law case studies : a review from practitioners
Bateman, David, 1963-
Call number: KF4209.3 .B374 2019

Stories of school yoga : narratives from the field
Call number: LB1072 .S86 2019

Taking action : implementing effective mathematics teaching practices in K-grade 5
Huinker, DeAnn
Call number: QA135.6 .H846 2017

Teacher education reform as political theater : Russian policy dramas
Aydarova, Elena, 1982-
Call number: LB1725 .R8 A93 2019

Teaching empire : Native Americans, Filipinos, and U.S. imperial education, 1879-1918
Eittreim, Elisabeth M.
Call number: LC3731 .E58 2019

Teaching English to second language learners in academic contexts : reading, writing, listening, and speaking
Newton, Jonathan M.
Call number: PE1128.A2 N495 2018

Teaching in the now : John Dewey on the educational present
Frank, Jeff, 1980-
Call number: LB875 .D5 F73 2019

Techniques and principles in language teaching
Larsen-Freeman, Diane.
Call number: PE1128.A2 L35 2011

The allure of order : high hopes, dashed expectations, and the troubled quest to remake American schooling
Mehta, Jal
Call number: LA217.2 .M436 2015

The Bloomsbury introduction to children's and young adult literature
Coats, Karen, 1963-
Call number: PN1009.A1 C55 2018

The Cambridge guide to learning English as a second language
Call number: PE1128.A2 C3177 2018

The Cambridge handbook of expertise and expert performance
Call number: BF431 .C26835 2018

The Cambridge handbook of workplace training and employee development
Call number: HF5549.5.T7 C247 2018

The concept of action
Enfield, N. J., 1966-
Call number: HM1111 .E535 2017

The data wrangler's handbook : simple tools for powerful results
Banerjee, Kyle
Call number: QA76.9.D26 B36 2019

The education of Eva Moskowitz : a memoir
Moskowitz, Eva S.
Call number: LA2317.M637 A3 2017

The handbook of intellectual disability and clinical psychology practice
Call number: RC570.2 .H365 2016

The Oxford handbook of evolutionary psychology and behavioral endocrinology
Call number: BF698.95 .O946 2019

The world of Laura Ingalls Wilder : the frontier landscapes that inspired the Little House books
McDowell, Marta
Call number: PS3545.I342 Z7685 2017

The writing revolution : a guide to advancing thinking through writing in all subjects and grades
Hochman, Judith
Call number: LB1047.3 .H63 2017

The years that matter most : how college makes or breaks us
Tough, Paul
Call number: LB2351 .T68 2019

Treating trauma-related dissociation : a practical, integrative approach
Steele, Kathy
Call number: RC553.D5 S72 2017

Tyranny of virtue : identity politics and the culture of complaint.
Boyers, Robert
Call number: Unknown

Unbroken faith : spiritual recovery for the special-needs parent
Kim, Diane Dokko.
Call number: HQ759.913 .K65 2017

Unlocking English learners' potential : strategies for making content accessible
Fenner, Diane Staehr
Call number: PE1128.A2 F38 2017

Vygotsky : an intellectual biography
Yasnitsky, Anton, 1972-
Call number: BF109.V95 Y373 2018

Waking the tiger : healing trauma : the innate capacity to transform overwhelming experiences
Call number: RC552.P67 L48 1997

Walkable cities : revitalization, vibrancy, and sustainable consumption
Balsas, Carlos J. L., 1971-
Call number: HT175 .B356 2019

What snowflakes get right : free speech, truth and equality on campus
Baer, Ulrich
Call number: LC72.2 .B34 2019

WISC-V clinical use and interpretation
Weiss, Lawrence G.
Call number: BF432.5.W42 W57 2019

Writing across culture and language : inclusive strategies for working with ELL writers in the ELA classroom
Ortmeier-Hooper, Christina, 1972-
Call number: PE1128.A2 O765 2017

Writing across cultures
Eddy, Robert
Call number: PE1404 .E284 2019

Writing for love and money : how migration drives literacy learning in transnational families
Vieira, Kate, 1977-
Call number: LC149 .V54 2019