It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This list of citation generators is by no means comprehensive. Look at these, use a search engine to find others, ask your friends how they create their lovely citations, or memorize the APA format. After awhile, you won't need a generator.
BibMe is an automated citation creator and bibliography generator that allows users to build and format references. BibMe locates your source from external databases, fills in the information, and then format the citation. Users can also make manual entries and can save bibliographies to their accounts.
Citation Machine allows users to generate citations by selecting pertinent information, like webpage and number of authors. Then users can manually enter information about the cited source, or use a search box to locate that information automatically.
Users create a bibliographic database to generata a table of contents or indexing terms, bibliographical references, illustrations, tables, and other objects.
Bibliographic Management V. Citation Creation
Bibliographic management tools are a bit more robust than standard citation generators. They generally allow users to store multiple file types and collaborate and share libraries with other researchers. Users are, in effect, creating their own portable, electronic libraries that can house years of accumulated research that can be accessed, organized, and referenced with ease.
Citation generators are usually used when writers need one or two citations quickly and will probably not reuse the same material. However, some generators are beginning to offer memberships that allow users to save and reuse bibliographies.
There are a multitude of bibliographic management tools available. If you don't like what you see here, a quick search will reveal others. Most bibliographic managers allow users to import/export from one to the other, so there's no harm in trying multiple tools to see which one you like. If you plan to continue your research, this is the time to find a bibliographic manager you like using.
CiteULike is a free service that allows users to store, organize and share scholarly papers. When reading a paper on the web, click one button and have it added to your personal library. CiteULike automatically extracts the citation details, so there's no need to type them in manually. It all works from within your web browser, so there's no need to install any software. Because your library is stored on the server, you can access it from any computer with an Internet connection.
Allows users to create portable electronic libraries. Features a powerful Cite While You Write function that inserts and formats footnotes, end notes, and bibliographies as you write. Vanderbilt students may purchase the standalone product at a discounted rate from the Software Store. Offers a free web-based version that requires a log-in and/or a browser plugin. iPad app available.
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network intended to organize research, facilitate online collaboration, and help discover the latest research. It Automatically generate bibliographies, imports papers from other research software, finds relevant papers, allows access to papers from anywhere online. iPhone app available.
Zotero is a free resource that supports storage of PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and many other files. Zotero automatically indexes your library, making it searchable. Users have the ability to create citations in Word and OpenOffice and add references to an email, a Google Doc, or some other editor by dragging one or more references out of Zotero. Standalone library and browser plug-in available based on your operating system.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.