What's This Number?
Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog? or where to find the book in the library?
Did you know...
|
As a Vanderbilt student you can borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections.) It's also good to know that you can return most of the items you've checked out to any of the campus libraries. For example, if you borrow a book from the Central Library you can return it to Peabody. Also look for bookdrops outside the various libraries and at the Common Center. |
Books, Articles and More!
Vanderbilt University Library Search
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Everything |
|
|
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Art Databases
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. Index of international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Asian Studies Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of books, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings on all subjects (especially the Humanities and Social Sciences) pertaining to the East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- China and the Modern World This link opens in a new window
English-language monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, etc. on diplomacy/international relations, economy/trade, politics, Christianity, sinology, education, science and technology, imperialism, and globalization in China.
- China/Asia On Demand (CAOD) This link opens in a new windowIndex of core and university journals in business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, and social sciences.
- CNKI China Doctoral/Master Dissertations Full-text Database 中国博士学位论文全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from major universities and institutions in mainland China.
- DBpia This link opens in a new window
Korean scholarly journals covering literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law & administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education
History and Religion Databases
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Historical Monographs Collection, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowPublications documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era, the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, among many other topics.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
General Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
Undergraduate Libraries
'The Library' at Vanderbilt is made up of not one but nine libraries. Each library has a special focus and together they make up the Heard Library system: Biomedical Library, Central Library, Divinity Library, Law Library, Management Library, Music Library, Peabody Library, Science & Engineering Library, and Special Collections.
Serving undergraduates is a primary mission for four of Vanderbilt's nine libraries.
 |
Central Library
|
 |
Stevenson Science & Engineering Library
|
 |
Peabody Library
|
 |
Anne Potter Wilson Music Library
|
