LAW 7400 - Juvenile Justice: Current Awareness

A professional quarterly journal for attorneys practicing family law as well as mental health professionals and judges. Feature and news articles address current family law topics. Coverage also includes practice tips and advice. Reports on the legislative, policy-making, and education activities of the Family Law Section of the American Bar Association (ABA) are included.

Weekly publication featuring coverage of important new federal and state cases, legislation, trends, and issues in family law.

All students, faculty, and staff can create accounts to access the New York Times. This will also allow you to download mobile applications, providing access to news on the go.

Bimonthly electronic newsletter highlighting agency activities, publications, funding opportunities, and upcoming events. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention.

All students, faculty, and staff can create accounts to access the New York Times. This will also allow you to download mobile applications, providing access to news on the go.

This web page includes the Committee newsletter, IJA-ABA Juvenile Justice Standards, and links to other resources.

This page includes links to ACLU resources such as current awareness articles, reports, and court cases.

"The Annie E. Casey Foundation is a private charitable organization, dedicated to helping build better futures for disadvantaged children in the United States." Under the category "Our Work" is information on the foundation's juvenile justice initiatives. Also has a useful data center, Kids Count Data Center, that includes data on health, family, education, safety, and other topics.

Resources include state snapshots, policy briefs, reports, and a list of resources from other organizations.

"The CCLP is a public interest law and policy organization focused on reform of juvenile justice and other systems that affect troubled and at-risk children, and protection of the rights of children in those systems." The resources page includes a number of juvenile justice resources broken down by topic.

Founded by Steve Drizin and directed by Laura Nirider, the CWCY is a nonprofit legal clinic that represents children and teenagers who have been convicted of crimes they didn’t commit. Housing some of the world’s leading experts on interrogations and confessions, the CWCY and its sister project, the Center on Wrongful Convictions, have exonerated more than 50 individuals. Visit their Making a Murderer page to learn more about the case of their client Brendan Dassey. Their Resources page offers assistance to everyone who is invested in our justice system – from law enforcement organizations to juvenile defenders to policymakers to youth themselves.

A national public interest law firm working to challenge laws, policies, or practices that harm children or to enforce children's rights. The Juvenile Law Center page includes a resources page with publications, fact sheets, and podcasts.

Preventing and addressing juvenile crime and delinquency remain perennial issues in state legislatures. NCSL tracks state actions that work to prevent delinquency; provide treatment to meet the alcohol, drug and mental health needs of young people; address the confidentiality of juvenile records; and otherwise address how young people are distinguished from adult offenders. NCSL has resources tracking how states are addressing a U.S. Supreme Court ruling on juvenile life without parole sentences, including retroactive application.

NJDC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting justice for all children by ensuring excellence in juvenile defense. Resources include training materials geared towards strengthening juvenile defense that can be tailored for any jurisdiction. To improve the quality of and access to juvenile defense, NJDC also provides a wide range of resources aimed at juvenile defenders' courtroom practice or juvenile indigent defense reforms.

OJJDP is a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. "Juveniles in crisis - from serious, violent, and chronic offenders to victims of abuse and neglect - pose a challenge to the nation. Charged by Congress to meet this challenge, OJJDP collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices."