Your Librarian
Zoom Meetings
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
-
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
-
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Literary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life on topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
-
Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Library Perks
-
Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
