ENVE 3610 - Sustainable Development - Troxel

The Virtual Library Experience

Your classes have moved online, and the Library is here to help!

Welcome

This guide is intended to help you find books, journals, articles, and quality civil and environmental engineering information. 

Stevenson Science & Engineering Library

Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries

Citing Sources

Engineering Standards

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library 
Standards and technical engineering information. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. (The library has a subscription to these)

IEEE Xplore 
Access to IEEE and IEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Engineering.

IHS Global Standards Store
The source for engineering specifications, standards, manuals and technical publications. Great site for identifying standards.

Finding Books and Other Information

Library Catalog
What Am I Searching?

The new library catalog provides a one-stop search option for all library resources, such as:

  • books and e-books
  • articles and journals
  • digital collections
  • media

Finding Articles

Engineering Databases

  • Compendex (Engineering Village) - ​Interdisciplinary engineering database providing citations and abstracts to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings.
  • Web of Science - Major journals across science disciplines. Complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Each citation includes a list of references cited in the source article. 
  • Google Scholar - indexes content from a great number of publishers. Inter-operates with the findit@VU linking system. Note that you must set your library settings preferencess to Vanderbilt.

Civil Engineering and Other Databases:

  • ASCE Database (CEDB) - ASCE's Free Information Retrieval Service Providing Access to over 170,000 Bibliographic Records of All ASCE Publications.
  • ICE Virtual Library - From Institution of Civil Engineers Publishing, the most comprehensive online civil engineering resource in the world. Here you can explore the archives back to 1836.

Full-text Publisher Databases:

Handbooks

Knovel  (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases)
**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link: http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel.

Civil Engineer's Reference Book (4th Edition) - Knovel
This fourth edition has been completely rewritten and updated. Now with 20 interactive graphs and 2 interactive tables It provides a concise and comprehensive survey of the fundamentals, theory and current practice in the many branches of civil engineering, giving state-of-the-art information and practical guidance for both student and practicing civil engineers

Librarian

Honora Eskridge's picture
Honora Eskridge
Contact:
3200 Stevenson Center
Meet me on Zoom by clicking the icon below:
Website