Newspaper Sources - HIST 3100 - Pirates of the Caribbean - Landers

Historical Newspaper Databases

Historical newspapers can be accessed through subscription databases, open access repositories made available by different institutions, and on microfilm through our Interlibrary Loan Service. The following is a list of many of those databases and repositories.

World Newspaper Archive
Historical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)

Access Note: Vanderbilt and CRL member institutions. Coverage: 18th - 20th centuries.
Access World News Research Collection

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876

18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean islands.

Coverage: 1718-1876.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government, includes translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world. Current coverage includes 1941-1996.
Ethnic NewsWatch

Journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. National and regional publications: African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.

Coverage: 1959-present
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Fully searchable newspapers from Latinx presses on both Hispanic American and Latin American subjects. Published in Spanish, English, and bilingually from across 22 states, the newspapers provide a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers, and grassroots figures.

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national, and international news.
El Mundo (Puerto Rico) Digital Archive
Founded in 1919, El Mundo (The World) was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection is within the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. dLOC continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.
Google News Archive
Includes the following Latin American and Spanish/Portuguese-language titels: Diario del Hogar, El Abogado Cristiano, El Alacran, El Asilo de Mendigos, El Bautista. El Correo del Comercio, El Correo Espanol , El Cronista Musical, El Cruzado, El Diario de Nueva York, El Diario la Prensa, El Monitor Republicano, El Nacional, El Pais, El Pajaro Verde, El Partido Liberal, El Siglo Diez Y Nueve, El Tiempo, El Universal
Jornal do Brasil, La Nacion, La Opinion, La Sociedad
Newspapers Available from the Center for Research Libraries
Access is provided through Interlibrary Loan
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Latin American Digital Initiatives (UT Austin)
Numerous historical newspapers and publications regarding human rights in Latin America.
Chronicling America
Chronicling America's U.S. Newspaper Directory 1690-present includes newspapers from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira
Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira provides digital access to more than 7,000 historical Brazilian newspapers and other periodicals through the Fundação Biblioteca Nacional.
Brazilian Newspapers at the University of Florida
The University of Florida Digital Collections has made available the following Brazilian newspapers:

Boletim hebdomadario de estatistica demographo-sanitaria das cidades de S. Paulo, Santos e Campinas (1904-1927) -- 417 issues
Diario de Pernambuco (1825-1924) -- 23,863 issues
Folha de Juazeiro (1973) -- Issue is the Juazeiro comemorou aniversario do Padre Cicero Romao edition)
Rebate (1909-1911) -- 94 issues; Newspaper issues from the personal collection of Pe. Cicero Coutinho, Juazeiro do Norte, featuring articles on Padre Cicero.
Voz da religiao no Cariry (1868-1870) -- 80 issues