Why start with reference sources?
Here are a few reasons:
- Get an overview of a new or complex topic
- Find authoritative information
- Find out the names of key players in a given area
- Locate terms that you can use in your research
- Help narrow (or expand) your topic
- Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.
Other Online Resources
Biographies and Criticism
- Hispanic Literature CriticismIncludes 2 volumes and supplemental material.
Call # PQ7081 .A1 H577 1994 v.1
Hispanic Literature Criticism by Call Number: PQ7081 .A1 H577 1994 v.1-2 REFERENCE PAYNE-6FL (nocirc)ISBN: 0810391457Publication Date: 1994This two-volume reference covers literary criticism on the works of 70 Hispanic authors. Each entry includes: critical opinion on the author and his/her works; bibliographical citation for each criticism; a chronology of principal works; biographical and career details; and further reading.
Online Resources
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowA good starting point for an overview of a topic and for context.. Includes Oxford Spanish dictionaries, dictionaries of writers, companions to literature, philosophy, music, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American LiteratureContains entries on writers, works and topics relating to the literature of Latin America, including survey articles on all the continent's individual countries.
The Cervantes EncyclopediaISBN: 0313328900Publication Date: 2003Provides the context--historically, culturally, personally, and critically--for Miguel de Cervantes and his works. Volume 1 includes articles A-K.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American TheaterThis volume traces the history of Latin American theater and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Features playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyThis online resource provides concise information on an extensive list of authors, poets, and other figures. Volumes include "Twentieth Century Spanish Poets," "Sixteenth Century Spanish Writers," and "Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers" among others.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureGood beginning point to help refine your topic and to find basic recommended books and articles on your subject or individual.
Caribbean Print Resources
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature by Call Number: PN849 .C3 E53 2006 v.1-2 REFERENCE PAYNE-6FL (nocirc)ISBN: 0313327424Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by Call Number: PQ7081 .A1 E558 2004 REFERENCE PAYNE-6FL (nocirc)ISBN: 0415306868Publication Date: 2004The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.- Caribbean Writers: A Bio-bibliographical-critical Encyclopedia byCall Number: PR9205 .A52 C375 1979 REFERENCE PAYNE-6FL (nocirc)ISBN: 0914478745Publication Date: 1979
Print Resources
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature vol. 1 Discovery to Modernism by Call Number: PQ7081.A1 C35 1996ISBN: 0521340691Publication Date: 1996Volume 1 begins with pre-Columbian traditions and the first contact with European culture, and continues through to the end of the nineteenth century. New World historiography, epic poetry, theater, the novel, and the essay form are among the areas covered in this comprehensive and authoritative treatment.
Latin American Writers by Call Number: PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989 v.1-3 REFERENCE PAYNE-6FL (nocirc)ISBN: 068418463XPublication Date: 1989This collection of bio-critical essays on Latin American writers from the 16th century to the present, is enhanced by Supplement I, covering writers who have come to the fore since the publication of the base set in 1989.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Women's Literature by ISBN: 9781316050859Publication Date: 2015-11-05
