Finding Books, Articles & More!

Dealing with Abbreviations

Journal names are often abbreviated in bibliographies, and deciphering them can be quite a chore.

Below is an online abbreviation lists from the American Journal of Archaeology as well as a more comprehensive print resource in our reference collection.

American Journal of Archaeology - Abbreviations List

Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines
Call Number: Central Reference 6th-flr Payne: PA99 .W44 2003
ISBN: 0313321418

Vanderbilt University Library Catalog

Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:

Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles

Search Scope	What is included?	When should I use it?
Library Catalog	Broadest search scope Results will include books and ebooks, articles, and media like DVDs	A great option when you are just beginning your research process. Use Library Catalog when you want to survey the research landscape for your topic
VU Collections	Focuses on VU owned items, physical and digital Results will include books and ebooks, and media like DVDs Digital collections like the TV News Archive will also be included in your results	You have defined your information needs Use VU Collections when you are ready to create a tailored search for your topic
Articles	Content from selected VU databases Popular and scholarly articles	Use Articles to find popular and scholarly articles on your topic. The Articles scope does not search across all databases accessible to the Vanderbilt community. Not finding the articles you need or want more database options? Consult the Database A-Z

For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?

Keyword vs. Subject Searching

Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.

Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches.

Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.

A Selection of Useful Subject Headings

Try a SUBJECT begins with search using one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:

Art, Roman		Architecture, Roman
Art, Greek		Architecture, Greek
Gardens, Roman		Landscapes Greece
Mosaic, Greek		Landscapes Rome
Mosaic, Roman		Mural painting and decoration, Roman
Landscape architecture

The following databases will help you find articles about topic.

General Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.

Art Databases

Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
Coverage: 1929 to present. User Limit: 4.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. Index of international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
Coverage: 1930s to the present; selective coverage dating back to the 1860s. User Limit: 5.
BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
Current literature of European and North and South American art. Traditional fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints), decorative and applied arts, industrial design, popular and folk art, photography, and contemporary new media. Citations from publications on the performing arts (costumes and scenography) and related titles from music, history and literature. BHA incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).
Coverage: 1975-2007.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
Resource for scholarly literature on western art, and successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).

Classics Databases

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
lndex for research in Classics. Entries cover articles, books, book reviews, Festschrifte, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.
Coverage: 1969 to present. User Limit: Unlimited. Vendor Tutorials: http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/central/classics/APhGuide.html
Dyabola This link opens in a new window
Index of material on all areas of Mediterranean and and Near Eastern archaeology and philology from prehistory to the Byzantine era. Citations for books, book reviews, chapters, articles, and festschriften.
Access Note: Select the flag corresponding to the search interface language you desire.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Tables of contents of classics, near eastern studies, and religion journals.
Coverage: 1992-.

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.

Visual Resources Center at Vanderbilt
The Vanderbilt University Visual Resources Center resides in the History of Art department and is your sources for finding and properly using high-quality images resources for your papers, presentations, and projects.
Perseus Digital Library
Contains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images. Provides an Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser documenting 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings.

Books from the Catalog

The Splendor of Roman Wall Painting by Pappalardo, Umberto
Call Number: Central Library: ND2575 .P28 2009
Domus by Donatella Mazzoleni; Umberto Pappalardo; Luciano Romano (Photographer)
Call Number: Central Library, Arts-Oversize: ND2575 .M3913 2004
ISBN: 0892367660