Skip to Main Content

Planning a Research Trip: Before You Go

This guide offers tips on planning an out-of-town research trip.

About Preliminary Steps

This list of questions relate to planning your visit, the length of your stay, and finding other local sources.

Before You Go

Is the archive open to the general public?
Do you need to provide a letter of reference from your home institution?
Where is the archive located?
Is there parking available? If so, is it free or do you have to pay?
Is the archive located near public transportation stops?
Are there hotel accommodations near the archive?
What dining options are available?

Public Services Archivist

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Special Collections & University Archives

615-343-2187

Subjects: Literature, Primary Sources, Southern Literature, Special Collections: History, Special Collections: Literature

Last Updated: Jul 31, 2023 1:10 PM
URL: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/researchtrip
Print Page

Subjects: Primary Sources

Tags: archives, primary sources, research, special collections, university archives

Creative Commons License

VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.