Virtual Library for Art. A joint effort between the special interest collections of Contemporary Art and Art History This unique union makes it now possible to research the whole subject spectrum belonging to Art History. The special interest collection of Art History focuses on Medieval and Early European Art History, including art influenced by Europe in the USA, Canada and Australia, continuing chronologically from the Early Christian era until 1945. The special interest collection of Contemporary Art continues the art historical subject spectrum to include European and North American Art History from 1945. The Virtual Library for Art contains text and image resources as well as comprehensive, academically relevant information dealing with all media from the Middle Ages up to the present.
ArtSource is a project that started in the Spring of 1994 when the web was relatively young. As usage of the WWW exploded it soon became apparent that a comprehensive site would be highly impractical. Artsource has has developed over time to be what it is today. Please realize that the BEST way to find information on art related topics is to talk to an art librarian who can use both internet resources AND a print collection.
An online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
"A not-for-profit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts. IFAR offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects. IFAR serves as a bridge between the public, and the scholarly and commercial art communities."
The Dictionary of Art Historians is a free, privately funded biographical dictionary of historians of western art written and maintained by scholars for the benefit of the public. It became associated with the Department of Art, Art History, and Visual Studies of Duke University in January of 2010. From 2016 on, it has been sponsored by the Wired! Lab for digital art history & visual culture. Initially conceived as a methodologic tool for English-language readers, it seeks to compile the documented facts of an historian's life in order to serve as a background for understanding a specific text and the historiography of art. The DAH was begun in the fall of 1986 as a notecard project by indexing the historians cited in Eugene Kleinbauer's Research Guide to the History of Western Art (1982) and his Modern Perspectives in Western Art History (1971), Heinrich Dilly's Kunstgeschichte als Institution (1979) and some of Kultermann's Geschichte der Kunstgeschichte (1966). In 1996 it was input electronically and in 2002 migrated to the internet. In 2018, the project underwent a major redesign and is again in active development. Subjects selected for inclusion are based solely by their reference in the historiographic literature (see bibliography link) and are not the selection of the editors.
Biographical information for newsworthy American & international figures in the areas of business, education, entertainment, government, health care, law, religion, science and technology, the arts, and sports.
Allgemeines Kultur-Lexicon Bio-Biblio-Graphisher Index
Central Library N40.A632 1999
Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani
Central Library ARMSTD-4FL -- CT 1123 .D5
Havlice's Index to Artistic Biography
Central Library N40.H38
Who's Who in Art
Central Library N40 .W6
Who's Who in Art
Who's Who in Art by Charles Baile de Laperriere (Editor); Lynda Murray (Editor)
Call Number: 8TH-FL-ART -- N40 .W6
Compiled from information personally provided by the artists and writers concerned, and it includes details about many outstanding exponents of art whose biographical details are unobtainable elsewhere. A great deal of material has been compiled with the assistance of leading artists' clubs and societies and publishers of art books in Britain and the Commonwealth.
Information Competencies for Students in Design Disciplines
Artists' Monograms and Indiscernible Signatures III by John Castagno
Call Number: Central REFERENCE ARMSTD-4FL N45 .C376 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-09
John Castagno's Artists' Signatures and Monograms have become the standard reference source for galleries, museums, libraries, and collectors around the world. Artists' Monograms and Indiscernible Signatures III: An International Directory contains more than 1,250 signatures of some 1,225 artists.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.