It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bobby Smiley, Liaison Librarian for Religious Studies and Theology
African American Historical Serials Collection
Purchased May 2013
This database, developed in cooperation with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastique
PURCHASED MAY 2013
An incomparable source of information on the history of the Church: 20 centuries of history. About 70,000 entries and sub-entries. Enrichment with more than 2200 biographical notes on bishops, drawn from the reference work Die Bischöfe des Heiligen Römischen Reiches.
Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique. Bibliographie
PURCHASED MAY 2013
The bibliography that sets the standard for the history of the church. Over 120,000 bibliographical records searchable. 70,000 records added annually.
Mississippi Praying. This religious history of white Mississippians in the civil rights era shows how Mississippians’ intense religious commitments played critical, rather than incidental, roles in their response to the movement for black equality.
In the decade preceding the outbreak of World War II, two popes essentially collaborated with Hitler, Mussolini, and fascist dictators in Spain (Franco) and Croatia (Pavelić), hoping they would eliminate a common enemy--Marxist-Leninist communism. This polemic, which has sparked controversy and debate for almost five decades in Germany, is now available in English for the first time.
Unlike other encyclopedias about Christianity, this volume is dedicated to Christianity on a global scale, for a global audience. Presupposing no prior knowledge of Christianity, it can usefully be consulted by Jews and Muslims, people of other faiths or no faith at all. It covers all forms of Christianity throughout history and the world.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.