It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Documents from a series of 24 one-hour classes designed to provide a grounding in the grammar of Achaemenid-period Aramaic and the opportunity for close reading of the most important of the Arshama documents. No previous knowledge of Semitic languages required!
The CAL is a text base of the Aramaic texts in all dialects from the earliest (9th Century BCE) through the 13th Century CE, currently with a database of approximately 2.5 million lexically parsed words, and an associated set of electronic tools for analyzing and manipulating the data, whose ultimate goal is the creation of a complete lexicon of the language. IT IS A WORK IN PROGRESS, not a completed dictionary. Accordingly, any citations for scholarly purposes should include the date when the data was found.
The CDLI is an international digital library project aimed at putting text and images of an estimated 500,000 recovered cuneiform tablets created from between roughly 3350 BCE and the end of the pre-Christian era online.
The aim of the project has been the creation of an open database able to manage more than 93,800 administrative cuneiform tablets written in the Sumerian language (c. 81,500 published, and 12,300 unpublished). These tablets belong to the Neo-Sumerian period (c. 2100-2000 BC), coming basically from five southern cities of Ancient Mesopotamia –Ur, Nippur, Drehem, Girsu and Umma–, and to a minor extent from some other urban settlements of the Neo-Sumerian period.
The aim of the Ebla Digital Archives [ EbDA ] database is to provide a digital edition of the entire corpus of cuneiform texts belonging to the Ebla Royal Archives. Texts are reproduced in the same sequence as in the individual volumes of the series Archivi Reali di Ebla – Testi published by the “Italian Archaeological Mission to Siria” of the Sapienza University of Rome. Compared with the hard copy publication, the digital edition provides harmonized transliterations, corrections and numerous collations made over the years by the team of epigraphers who cooperate with the Mission.
The corpus contains Sumerian texts in transliteration, English prose translations and bibliographical information for each composition. The transliterations and the translations can be searched, browsed and read online using the tools of the website.
ETANA (Electronic Texts and Ancient Near Eastern Archives) has digitized, and continues to digitize, texts selected as valuable for teaching and research relating to ancient Near Eastern studies. We have selected primarily editions that are outside of copyright, or with the permission of copyright holders. While the new electronic editions we have produced are under copyright, the ETANA project chooses to make these freely available for noncommercial teaching and research purposes.
Welcome to the portal of the Old Assyrian Text Project, a collaborative project designed to produce new editions of Old Assyrian archives and specialized studies of the Old Assyrian period. We intend to provide up-to-date information about the project itself and about Old Assyrian studies in general.
Oracc is a corpus-building cooperative which provides facilities and support for the creation of free online editions of cuneiform texts. Oracc is a natural complement to CDLI's central archival role as a catalogue and image database of the entire cuneiform corpus and a repository for reference transliterations of that corpus.
SEAL aims to compile a complete indexed corpus of Akkadian literary texts from the 3rd and 2nd Millennia BCE, attempting to enable the efficient study of the entire early Akkadian literature in all its philological, literary, and historical aspects.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.