Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: AvianBlackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Avian presents complete information on diseases and conditions seen in birds in a quick-reference format ideal for clinical practice. * Offers fast access to essential information on 128 avian diseases and syndromes * Written by leading experts in avian medicine * Uses the trusted Five-Minute Veterinary Consult format * Focuses on practical clinical knowledge * Includes access to a companion website offering algorithms, procedure guides, and client education handouts to download, edit, and use in practice
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and FelineLike having a trusted clinician with you in the exam room, the fully updated Sixth Edition of Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline continues to offer fast access to information in an easy-to-use format. Provides fast access to key information on the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and conditions in dogs and cats Covers 846 specific disorders, making it the most comprehensive quick-reference book on canine and feline medicine Carefully designed for fast searching and reference in the busy practice setting, giving you the confidence to make clinical decisions quickly and appropriately Presents contributions from 379 leading experts specializing in all areas of veterinary medicine Includes access to a companion website with 354 client education handouts for you to download and use in practice, plus images and video clips
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal ToxicologyBlackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Toxicology, Second Edition puts all the information needed to rapidly and accurately manage poisonings in small animal patients at the clinician's fingertips. Provides concise, bulleted information focused on the most important facts needed when treating a poisoned cat or dog Carefully organized for ease of use in an emergency, with important toxicants arranged alphabetically within categories Details clinically relevant information on the most common toxicants encountered by small animals Presents a wealth of color photographs to aid in plant identification Includes 14 new topics to this edition covering cyclosporine A, sleep aids, tacrolimus, bath salts, synthetic marijuana, poisonous lizards, imidacloprid, spring bulbs, and sodium monofluoroacetate
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Abdominal SurgeryExtensively revised and updated, the new edition of the BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Abdominal Surgery provides a ready source of practical information for veterinary surgeons, students, nurses and technicians. *Includes detailed surgical procedures, laid out in step-by-step Operative Techniques in an easy to follow and practical way *Notes on patient positioning and preparation, instrumentation and postoperative management *Specially commissioned drawings and full-colour photographs illustrate both the Operative Techniques and the accompanying text *New chapters on laparoscopic surgery and urinary incontinence *From routine ovariohysterectomies to emergency abdominal drainage for acute peritonitis, abdominal surgery is an essential topic in general small animal practice Extensively revised and updated, the new edition of the BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Abdominal Surgery provides a ready source of practical information for veterinary surgeons, students, nurses and technicians. Includes detailed surgical procedures, laid out in step-by-step Operative Techniques in an easy to follow and practical way Notes on patient positioning and preparation, instrumentation and postoperative management Specially commissioned drawings and full-colour photographs illustrate both the Operative Techniques and the accompanying text New chapters on laparoscopic surgery and urinary incontinence From routine ovariohysterectomies to emergency abdominal drainage for acute peritonitis, abdominal surgery is an essential topic in general small animal practice
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Anaesthesia and AnalgesiaAnaesthesia and analgesia is a constantly advancing field and this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to take account of the latest techniques and considerations. The structure, which has worked so well for the previous editions, has been retained and there are new chapters on pain assessment methods, anaesthesia for MRI and how to manage chronic pain. Full-colour illustrations, tables and charts allow readers to easily visualise techniques, ensuring that this manual will be a must-have for any practice.
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Clinical PathologyThe new edition of this popular manual has been extensively updated to reflect advances in this field, while readers will also find new chapters on inherited and cardiac disease. Clinical case studies have been retained, allowing readers to consider how they might approach common problems and see for themselves how test selection and interpretation are applied. Body systems are dealt with in their own discrete chapters, as are urinalysis, blood cells and proteins. Full-colour photographs and illustrations can be found throughout, which will prove indispensable to clinical pathologists, clinicians and veterinary students keen to get grips with a rapidly expanding subject.
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Fracture Repair and ManagementFracture management has developed rapidly since the first edition of this manual was published. Fully revised and updated, this second edition has an increased focus on operative techniques and includes easy to follow guides with specially commissioned full-colour illustrations. The manual covers the background to fracture management, principles of fracture management, repair and management of specific fractures and the treatment and prevention of complications. New chapters address topics such as minimally invasive surgery, orthopaedic implants and bone grafts.
Publication Date: 2016-06-27
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Musculoskeletal ImagingThis new edition builds on the practical structure of its predecessor, with chapters arranged anatomically. Individual joints, the long bones, the skull and the spine are dealt with in discrete sections while soft tissues, bones and joints are considered more generally. The manual has been thoroughly revised and updated, while new chapters dedicated to imaging modalities such as CT, MRI and ultrasonography broaden the scope of the manual. Indications for use and illustrations add depth to this relatively new area of musculoskeletal imaging. Techniques and findings are explained clearly, ensuring that the content is accessible to veterinarians of all levels.
Publication Date: 2016-12-19
Color Atlas of Veterinary OphthalmologyColor Atlas of Veterinary Ophthalmology, Second Edition provides a compendium of the clinical appearance of ophthalmic diseases likely to be encountered in small, large, or exotic animal practice. Offers a pictorial reference to the clinical appearance of diseases and conditions of the animal eye Presents multiple presentations of most ophthalmic diseases to show the varying ways the condition might appear Provides more than 1,000 high-quality color clinical photographs showing ocular disorders Includes new introductory chapters on ocular anatomy, the ophthalmic exam, and clinical findings in place of the clinical signs chapter Covers clinical history, the clinical signs and findings associated with the disease, the rule-outs or differential diagnoses, the recommended treatment, and the prognosis for each disorder
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
The Merck Veterinary Manual by Susan E. Aiello; Michael A. Moses; Melinda D. MerckThe Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) covers all domesticated species and diseases in veterinary medicine worldwide. This completely revised and redesigned new edition of the veterinary classic uses a two-column format and color throughout for easy-to-read text and tables. Hundreds of color images enhance and illustrate the text. In addition to extensive revisions and updates, this edition includes a new section on public health and zoonoses, expanded coverage of fish and aquaculture, new chapters on backyard poultry, toxicologic workplace hazards, smoke inhalation, and additional coverage of numerous new and emerging topics in veterinary medicine.
Publication Date: 2016-07-18
Monitoring and Intervention for the Critically Ill Small AnimalMonitoring and Intervention for the Critically Ill Small Animal: The Rule of 20 offers guidance for assessing the patient, interpreting diagnostic test results, and selecting appropriate monitoring procedures. Based on Rebecca Kirby's time-tested Rule of 20, with a chapter devoted to each item on the checklist Provides comprehensive guidance for monitoring a critically ill small animal patient Emphasizes the interplay of each parameter with one another Designed for fast access on the clinic floor, with potentially life-saving ideas, tips, lists and procedures Presents tables, schematics, algorithms, and drawings for quick reference
Publication Date: 2016-12-19
Practical Guide to Canine and Feline NeurologyNow in full color, Practical Guide to Canine and Feline Neurology, Third Edition provides a fully updated new edition of the most complete resource on managing neurology cases in small animal practice, with video clips on a companion website. ?Provides comprehensive information for diagnosing and treating neurological conditions ?Printed in full color for the first time, with 400 new or improved images throughout ?Offers new chapters on differential diagnosis, magnetic resonance imaging, and movement disorders ?Retains the logical structure and easy-to-follow outline format of the previous editions ?Includes access to video clips of specific disorders and a how-to video demonstrating the neurologic assessment online and a link to a digital canine brain atlas at www.wiley.com/go/dewey/neurology Now in full color, Practical Guide to Canine and Feline Neurology, Third Edition provides a fully updated new edition of the most complete resource on managing neurology cases in small animal practice, with video clips on a companion website. ?Provides comprehensive information for diagnosing and treating neurological conditions ?Printed in full color for the first time, with 400 new or improved images throughout ?Offers new chapters on differential diagnosis, magnetic resonance imaging, and movement disorders ?Retains the logical structure and easy-to-follow outline format of the previous editions ?Includes access to video clips of specific disorders and a how-to video demonstrating the neurologic assessment online and a link to a digital canine brain atlas at www.wiley.com/go/dewey/neurology
Publication Date: 2015-11-09
Principles of Veterinary Parasitology by Dennis Jacobs; Mark Fox; Lynda Gibbons; Carlos HermosillaPrinciples of Veterinary Parasitology is a student-friendly introduction to veterinary parasitology. Written primarily to meet the immediate needs of veterinary students, this textbook outlines the essential parasitological knowledge needed to underpin clinical practice. Conceptual relationships between parasitic organisms, their biology and the diseases they cause are clearly illustrated. Help boxes and practical tips are included throughout alongside a wealth of colour photographs, drawings and life-cycle diagrams. Organised taxonomically with additional host-orientated chapters and focussing on parasites that commonly cause animal or zoonotic disease, welfare problems or economic losses, students worldwide will benefit from this straightforward and easy to comprehend introduction to veterinary parasitology. Key features include: An easy to navigate textbook, providing information essential for clinical studies Full colour throughout, with photographs, diagrams, life-cycles and help boxes for visual learners A companion website including a pronunciation guide, self-assessment questions and further reading lists
Publication Date: 2015-12-02
Small Animal ImagingThis textbook is a practical guide to the use of small animal imaging in preclinical research that will assist in the choice of imaging modality and contrast agent and in study design, experimental setup, and data evaluation. All established imaging modalities are discussed in detail, with the assistance of numerous informative illustrations. While the focus of the new edition remains on practical basics, it has been updated to encompass a variety of emerging imaging modalities, methods, and applications. Additional useful hints are also supplied on the installation of a small animal unit, study planning, animal handling, and cost-effective performance of small animal imaging. Cross-calibration methods and data postprocessing are considered in depth. This new edition of Small Animal Imaging will be an invaluable aid for researchers, students, and technicians involved in research into and applications of small animal imaging.
Publication Date: 2017-06-07
Small Animal Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy by Boel A. Fransson; Philipp D. MayhewSmall Animal Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy provides a comprehensive reference to laparoscopy and thoracoscopy, with step-by-step guidance for surgical techniques ranging from basic to advanced. * Acts as both a quick reference to specific techniques and as a comprehensive resource to small animal laparoscopy and thoracoscopy * Guides the reader through each step of the surgical techniques * Takes a clinically oriented approach, with tips on safely and quickly performing procedures throughout * Part of the Advances in Veterinary Surgery series copublished with the American College of Veterinary Surgeons Foundation * Includes access to a companion website with video clips of the procedures described and the figures from the book in PowerPoint
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Veterinary Anesthesia and AnalgesiaVeterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia: the Fifth Edition of Lumb and Jones is a reorganized and updated edition of the gold-standard reference for anesthesia and pain management in veterinary patients. Provides a thoroughly updated edition of this comprehensive reference on veterinary anesthesia and analgesia, combining state-of-the-art scientific knowledge and clinically relevant information Covers immobilization, sedation, anesthesia, and analgesia of companion, wild, zoo, and laboratory animals Takes a body systems approach for easier reference to information about anesthetizing patients with existing conditions Adds 10 completely new chapters with in-depth discussions of perioperative heat balance, coagulation disorders, pacemaker implantation, cardiac output measurement, cardiopulmonary bypass, shelter anesthesia and pain management, anesthetic risk assessment, principles of anesthetic pharmacology, and more Now printed in color, with more than 400 images
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.