Hemodialysis AccessThis comprehensive reference on the fundamentals of hemodialysis access creation and advanced management for maintenance is designed to meet the needs of all surgeons and physicians responsible for the treatment and care of patients undergoing dialysis. The book opens by discussing every aspect of dialysis access planning, including selection of the right access for the individual patient and access strategies. Hemodialysis access techniques, from the most basic to the most complex and unconventional, are then described step by step, and guidance is provided on follow-up. Detailed attention is also devoted to the challenging management of specific complications of dialysis access surgery, including failing hemodialysis access. The book includes a wealth of informative, high-quality images and illustrations, and the authors are prominent vascular surgeons, transplant surgeons, general surgeons, nephrologists, and interventional radiologists from across the United States.
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Surgical Aspects of Peritoneal DialysisThis book aims to educate general and vascular surgeons on all pertinent aspects of peritoneal dialysis (PD). Most surgeons get very little training in residency on this topic, and the use of PD is growing around the world. Much of the book will focus on implantation techniques, especially laparoscopic insertions. The authors will describe the known adjunct procedures that have been shown to decrease dysfunction rates. The aim is to provide greater patient autonomy, a better quality of life, preservation of residual renal function and a higher survival advantage.
Publication Date: 2017-04-27
Henrich's Principles and Practice of DialysisImprove your patients' quality of life with evidence-based, practical guidance on every aspect of today's dialysis. For more than 20 years, Henrich's Principles and Practice of Dialysis has been the go-to resource for comprehensive, accessible information on the challenges of managing the wide variety of patients who receive dialysis. This Fifth Edition brings you fully up to date with new chapters, a new eBook edition, two new editors and new contributors who offer practical experience and a fresh perspective. Clearly written and unique in scope, it helps you meet the growing demand for this procedure by providing a solid foundation in both basic science and clinical application. Key Features: All chapters are fully updated and offer unparalleled coverage of the changing nature of modern dialysis practice. A new chapter on pregnancy and dialysis addresses the unique needs of this special patient population. A new chapter on cystic kidney disease and ESRD provides the latest information on complications that can lead to kidney failure. Other new chapters include home hemodialysis, the wearable artificial kidney, and respiratory disorders in dialysis patients. Sections cover technical and procedural considerations in hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis, clinical considerations in the evaluation of dialysis patients, drugs and intoxications, dialysis in the pediatric population, and the business of dialysis. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2016-10-21
Handbook of Dialysis TherapyProviding practical, immediately useful guidelines that can be applied directly to patient care, Handbook of Dialysis Therapy is a must-have resource for all dialysis caregivers. This new edition has been updated with the latest cutting-edge technology, dialysis techniques, and complications related to various diseases for both pediatric and adult patients. In-depth yet concise, it explains complex dialysis concepts through abundant diagrams, photos, line drawings, and tables, while its readable hands-on approach allows for quick review of key information. Presents the practice-proven experience of top experts in the field of dialysis treatment. Offers dialysis guidance for both adult and pediatric patients in one convenient source. Features a readable hands-on approach, allowing you to quickly review the complicated concepts of dialysis. Includes helpful annotated bibliography lists in each section for further in-depth research on any subject. Explains complex dialysis concepts through abundant diagrams, photos, line drawings, and tables. Features new chapters on care delivery, patient-centric care, rehabilitation, quality of life, geriatrics, and interventional nephrology. Includes information on the management of the pediatric patient undergoing dialysis. Defines the quality imperatives, roles, and responsibilities of dialysis facility medical directors and attending nephrologists. Updates nephrologists on the latest alternative dialysis modalities. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
The Essentials of Clinical DialysisThis book is a thorough guide to dialysis that will assist in the effective treatment of patients. Current knowledge on all aspects of dialysis, including the most recent advances, is presented and the various techniques used in dialysis patients are described step by step. Both hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis are fully considered. The coverage of hemodialysis explains the procedure and its indications and provides guidance on challenging topics such as vascular access, response to acute and chronic complications, and on-line hemodiafiltration. The discussion of peritoneal dialysis includes explanation of peritoneal physiology, the principles of prescription, and the treatment of peritonitis and exit site infection. A summary of updated dialysis-related guidelines is included at the end of the book. The lucid text is supported by more than 200 full-color illustrations that clarify anatomy, vascular/peritoneal access, and dialysis procedures and techniques. The Essentials of Clinical Dialysis will be of value for all who are involved in the management of dialysis patients and will be a helpful guide for training of physicians and healthcare associates in the dialysis center.
Publication Date: 2017-12-29
Brenner and Rector's the Kidney, 2-Volume Set, 10th ed.Overcome the toughest clinical challenges in nephrology with Brenner & Rector's The Kidney -- the most well-known nephrology resource in the world. A diverse team of more than 200 international contributors brings you the latest knowledge and best practices on every front in nephrology worldwide. From basic science and pathophysiology to clinical best practices, Brenner & Rector's The Kidney is your go-to resource for any stage of your career. Review of the basic science that underpins clinical nephrology, comprehensive selection of the most important bibliographical sources in nephrology, and Board Review-style questions help you prepare for certification or recertification. Coverage of kidney health and disease from pre-conception through fetal and infant health, childhood, adulthood, and into old age. Expanded sections and chapter on global perspective and ethical considerations. Uniform terminology and nomenclature in line with emerging consensus in world kidney community. More than 700 full-color high-quality photographs as well as carefully chosen figures, algorithms, and tables to illustrate essential concepts, nuances of clinical presentation and technique, and decision making provide a visual grasp and better understanding of critical information. Internationally diverse, trusted guidance and perspectives from a team of well-respected global contributors. An editorial team headed by Dr. Skorecki and handpicked by Dr. Brenner ensures the ongoing adherence to previous standards of excellence. All chapters have been extensively updated or entirely rewritten by authorities in their respective fields. The latest clinical information including recent clinical trials, genetic causes of kidney disease, cardiovascular and renal risk prediction in chronic kidney disease, new paradigms in fluid and electrolyte management, and pediatric kidney disease, keep you current with the rapid development of care and research worldwide. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. The must-have resource for mastering all areas of nephrology, extensively revised and with new global experts. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and TransplantationFrom basic science to practical clinical tools, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th Edition provides you with the up-to-date, authoritative guidance you need to safely and effectively manage patients with chronic renal disease. Covering all relevant clinical management issues, this companion volume to Brenner and Rector's The Kidney presents the knowledge and expertise of renowned researchers and clinicians in the fields of hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, critical care nephrology, and transplantation - for an all-in-one, indispensable guide to every aspect of this fast-changing field. Contains expanded content on economics and outcomes of treatment, as well as acute kidney injury. Covers hot topics such as the genetic causes of chronic kidney disease, ethical challenges and palliative care, and home hemodialysis. Discusses the latest advances in hypertensive kidney disease, vitamin D deficiency, diabetes management, transplantation, and more. Provides a clear visual understanding of complex information with high-quality line drawings, photographs, and diagnostic and treatment algorithms. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2018-12-20
Diagnostic Atlas of Renal PathologyPractical, highly visual guidance for efficient, accurate diagnosis of renal disease More than 700 images of light, immunofluorescence, and electron microscopy for each diagnostic entity with correlations to clinical presentation and pathogenesis. Focused, detailed discussions on key characteristic pathologic findings and prognostic, pathogenetic, and etiologic information. An in-depth examination of pathophysiology, clinical presentations, and the latest evidence-based practices. User-friendly format features tables and sidebars with key points and differential diagnoses, and chapters that include concise, templated discussions regarding the etiology and pathogenesis of the disorder. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. A new chapter describing a logical approach to differential diagnosis. New insights into pathogenesis and classification of diseases. New coverage of aging and the kidney, endemic diseases, transplant, lupus-related kidney diseases, Mesoamerican nephropathy, ApolL1-related nephropathies, C3 glomerulopathies, and thrombotic microangiopathies. Recent results of consensus conferences on vasculitides and renal neoplasia.
Publication Date: 2016-11-02
National Kidney Foundation Primer on Kidney DiseasesIdeal for residency, fellowship, clinical practice, and board review, the National Kidney Foundation's Primer on Kidney Diseases, 7th Edition, by Drs. Scott J. Gilbert and Daniel E. Weiner, offers comprehensive coverage of adult and pediatric kidney diseases in an authoritative, practical resource. Well organized and highly readable, it covers every relevant topic in the field, from anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology, to diagnosis and management of kidney disease, to fluid and electrolyte disorders, hypertension, dialysis, and renal transplantation. Trusted by nephrologists at all levels of experience for nearly 25 years, this powerful learning tool and clinical reference is a joint publication of Elsevier and the National Kidney Foundation. Thoroughly covers hot topics in this fast-changing field, including ongoing clinical research and changing treatment protocols. A new chapter on inherited kidney diseases, with a specific focus on APOL1 and the implications of APOL1 carrier status for kidney disease in African-Americans. A new approach to membranoproliferative glomerulonephritis, focusing on the role of complement as a way to approach both the diagnosis and treatment of these diseases. Additions to the chapter on hemodialysis, specifically incorporating information on hemodiafiltration. Updates in the management of hypertension, incorporating results from SPRINT and ACCORD as well as data on treatment of renal artery sclerosis and renal denervation into the approach for blood pressure management. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-10-21
Hypertension and Renal Organ DamageThis book guides readers through a wide spectrum of clinical presentations in patients with arterial hypertension and different degrees of renal impairment, ranging from asymptomatic urine abnormalities to end stage renal disease. On the basis of six case studies, the author reviews and discusses current guidelines and recommendations aimed at optimizing the diagnostic and therapeutic approach both to renal and cardiovascular risk in commonly encountered real-world clinical scenarios including challenging cases of diabetic kidney disease, ischemic nephropathy and resistant hypertension. It also explores anti-hypertensive drug combinations, including single or multiple RAAS-I, lipid lowering and antiplatelet drugs, as well as the appropriate use of glucose lowering drugs in the context of chronic kidney disease. This handy and practical book provides physicians in the area of general and internal medicine, as well as specialists in the cardiovascular, metabolic and renal fields valuable insights into optimal therapeutic targets for blood pressure and glucose control in renal patients.
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
Resistant Hypertension in Chronic Kidney DiseaseThis comprehensive volume provides a detailed review on the general work up of chronic kidney disease-associated resistant hypertension. This title is separated into four parts; the first of which provides definitions, epidemiology, characteristics, risk stratification and outcomes of resistant and apparent treatment resistant hypertension. The next two sections explore pathophysiology and diagnosis, treatment in the light of new guidelines, as well as procedures and devices for neural modulation. Part four discusses public health approaches to resistant hypertension, educational programs, and resistant hypertension for general practitioners. Resistant Hypertension in CKD brings up-to-date information to nephrologists, internists, cardiologists and a wide array of other clinicians and health professionals taking care of chronic kidney disease patients.
Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Pediatric Continuous Renal Replacement TherapyThis book provides a current understanding of Continuous Renal Replacement Therapies (CRRT) techniques with a focus on drug dosing in critically ill children receiving CRRT. Strategies include the role of therapeutic drug monitoring, effect of CRRT on drug pharmacokinetics, variations in the drugs properties, newer kidney injury biomarkers and simple and easy methods for estimating drug clearance. The conclusion of this book features case reports focused on the patients' symptoms and laboratory data as they present in clinical practice and the type of CRRT modality needed to provide quality, safety, and cost-effectiveness of patient care. Pediatric Continuous Renal Replacement Therapy will expand the clinical knowledge and experience of practicing nephrologists and other professionals involved in the care of children suffering from Acute Kidney Injury (AKI) to improve and sustain their quality of life.
Contemporary Kidney TransplantationThis book provides a comprehensive guide to successful kidney transplantation in the highly regulated environment of today. It covers the history of kidney transplant to highlight innovations that have made kidney transplantation so successful as well as the new deceased donor kidney allocation strategy and postulates what types of changes might occur with this new policy. The book highlights special areas of nephrology concern in kidney transplantation, especially diseases likely to recur following transplant. It deals with many of the medications used in kidney transplantation including different commonly used antirejection protocols. It also provides a complete reference on the various operations involved in kidney transplantation. The text includes detailed pictures and surgical technique sections on cadaveric kidney transplantation and living kidney transplantation. It includes information on living kidney donation surgery with a chapter dedicated to the minimally invasive techniques that have been popularized in the last fifteen years. Some coverage on open living kidney donation is presented. Included in this section is discussions of how to handle certain operative challenges like severe atherosclerosis, venous sclerosis and various urinary system aberrancies. Comprehensive coverage of common surgical complications is presented including management of urinary strictures, urinary leaks, lymphoceles, vascular probl ems following transplant, and what steps should be taken when an early kidney transplant biopsy is necessary. It also covers in detail what is required for maintenance of health after kidney transplantation including the major risks for graft loss as well as what disease processes kidney transplant patients are particularly vulnerable to.
Publication Date: 2018-07-12
Solid Organ Transplantation in Infants and ChildrenAnbsp;new textbook of transplantation for infants and children is needed that is at least a first effort at achieving standard work in this field.nbsp;Solid Organ Transplantation in Infants and Children provides a broad view of the current practice of solid organ transplantation in pediatric patients. It focuses on best practice and measureable outcomes whenever possible. It provides direct guidance for standard work in this broad and young field of clinical work. It portrays the regulatory environment in which this work occurs and the specific program requirements for each clinical program.nbsp;Organized innbsp;two volumes,nbsp;the first volume is devoted to the pediatric patient and their particular needs or concerns.nbsp;This volume also contains information on the regulatory environment and pediatric program specific requirements. The second volume is devoted to the standard work in each solid organ transplanted.nbsp;These volumes will be very useful for every practicing pediatric transplant program in the United States and Canada and much of the developed world. By reading these volumes, the reader will gain a firm understanding and practical knowledge of standard work in solid organ transplantation and the regulatory environment and requirements of programs to do that work.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.