Abdominal Imaging, 2nd ed.Richly illustrated and comprehensive in scope, Abdominal Imaging, 2nd Edition, by Drs. Dushyant V. Sahani and Anthony E. Samir, is your up-to-date, one-volume source for evaluating the full range of diagnostic, therapeutic, and interventional challenges in this fast-changing field. Part of the Expert Radiology series, this highly regarded reference covers all modalities and organ systems in a concise, newly streamlined format for quicker access to common and uncommon findings. Detailed, expert guidance, accompanied by thousands of high-quality digital images, helps you make the most of new technologies and advances in abdominal imaging. Offers thorough coverage of all diagnostic modalities for abdominal imaging: radiographs, fluoroscopy, ultrasound, CT, MRI, PET and PET/CT. Helps you select the best imaging approaches and effectively interpret your findings with a highly templated, well-organized, at-a-glance organization. Covers multi-modality imaging of the esophagus, stomach, small bowel, colon, liver, pancreas, gall bladder, bile ducts, spleen, pelvic lymph nodes, kidneys, urinary tract, prostate, and peritoneum. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes new chapters on esophageal imaging; 5RECIST, WHO, and other response criteria; and a new section on oncologic imaging. Keeps you up to date with the latest developments in image-guided therapies, dual-energy CT, elastography, and much more. Features more than 2,400 high-quality images, including 240 images new to this edition.
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Breast Imaging: the RequisitesNow in its 3rd Edition, this bestselling volume in the popular Requisites series, by Drs. Debra M. Ikeda and Kanae K. Miyake, thoroughly covers the fast-changing field of breast imaging. Ideal for residency, clinical practice and certification and MOC exam study, it presents everything you need to know about diagnostic imaging of the breast, including new BI-RADS standards, new digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) content and videos, ultrasound, and much more. Compact and authoritative, it provides up-to-date, expert guidance in reading and interpreting mammographic, ultrasound, DBT, and MRI images for efficient and accurate detection of breast disease. Features over 1,300 high-quality images throughout. Summarizes key information with numerous outlines, tables, ''pearls,'' and boxed material for easy reference. Focuses on essentials to pass the boards and the MOC exam and ensure accurate diagnoses in clinical practice. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices and features DBT videos. All-new Breast Imaging-Reporting and Data System (BI-RADS) recommendations for management and terminology for mammography, elastography in ultrasound, and MRI. Step-by-step guidance on how to read new 3D tomosynthesis imaging studies with example cases, including limitations, pitfalls, and 55 new DBT videos. More evidence on the management of high risk breast lesions. Correlations of ultrasound, mammography, and MRI with tomosynthesis imaging. Detailed basis of contrast-enhanced MRI studies. Recent nuclear medicine techniques such as FDG PET/CT, NaF PET.
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic ImagingFor more than 70 years, Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that radiologists have relied upon for dependable coverage of all aspects of pediatric imaging. In the 13th Edition, Dr. Brian Coley leads a team of experts to bring you up to date with today's practice standards in radiation effects and safety, as well as in head and neck, neurologic, thoracic, cardiac, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and musculoskeletal pediatric imaging. This two-volume bestselling reference is a must-have resource for pediatric radiologists, general radiologists, pediatric subspecialists, pediatricians, hospitals, and more - anywhere clinicians need to ensure safe, effective, and up-to-date imaging of children. Provides access to 50 online videos, including hypertrophic pyloric stenosis, disorders of swallowing, fetal swallowing, fetal bowel obstruction, upper GI and ultrasound evaluation of malrotation and volvulus, congenital heart disease MRI evaluation, and many more. Includes separate chapters on radiation effects and safety, pre-natal imaging, neoplasms, trauma, techniques, embryology, genetic anomalies, and common acquired conditions. Takes an updated, contemporary approach with more focused and consistently formatted content throughout. Clinical content includes Overview; Etiologies, Pathophysiology, and Clinical Presentation; Imaging, including pros and cons, costs, evidence-based data, findings, and differential diagnostic considerations; and Treatment, including follow-up. Features 8,500 high-quality images - 1,000 new or updated. Provides expanded coverage of advanced imaging and diagnostics, including genetics and fetal imaging, MRI and advanced MR techniques, low-dose CT, ultrasound, nuclear medicine, and molecular imaging, as well as the latest quality standards, evidence-based data, and practice guidelines. Features new Key Points boxes and more tables and flowcharts that make reference faster and easier. Focuses on safety, particularly in radiation dosing, as part of the Image Gently® campaign to improve pediatric imaging while limiting radiation exposure and unneeded studies. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Callen's Ultrasonography in Obstetrics and Gynecology, 6th ed.Get outstanding guidance from the world's most trusted reference on OB/GYN ultrasound. Now brought to you by lead editor Dr. Mary Norton, Callen's Ultrasonography in Obstetrics and Gynecology has been completely and exhaustively updated by a team of obstetric, gynecologic, and radiology experts to reflect the most recent advances in the field. It addresses the shift in today's practice to a collaborative effort among radiologists, perinatologists, and OB/GYNs, with new emphasis placed on genetics and clinical management. This must-have resource covers virtually all aspects of fetal, obstetric and gynecologic ultrasound - from the common to the rare - in one essential clinical reference, allowing you to practice with absolute confidence. Highly templated, full-color format allows you to locate information more quickly. Full-color medical illustrations present key anatomic details in a clear manner. Thousands of digital-quality images depict the complete range of normal and abnormal imaging presentations. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access 20 real-time ultrasound videos of the fetal heart and other structures. Provides extensive updates of text and images, including the latest in imaging, Doppler techniques, genetic testing, and clinical management. Brand new chapters provide up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of topics relevant to current practice: -First Trimester Fetal Anatomy -Obstetric Ultrasound and the Obese Patient -Evaluation of Pelvic Pain in the Reproductive Age Patient -Gynecologic Ultrasound in the Pediatric and Adolescent Patient -Ultrasound and Magnetic Resonance Imaging in Urogynecology -The Role of Ultrasound in Gynecologic Interventions Highlights significant new genetic testing content, including correlation with ultrasound evaluation of the fetus. Places increased emphasis on 3-dimensional imaging and correlative imaging with magnetic resonance (MR). Features new practice guidelines for obstetric evaluation (including first trimester assessment) and gynecologic management (including evaluation of the endometrium and of ovarian masses). Features new information about fetal imaging guidelines from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). Provides expanded discussion of fetal, obstetric, and gynecologic interventions with new emphasis on clinical use and application of ultrasound imaging. Includes key and comprehensive reference data used for evaluation of fetal growth and other specialized measurements.
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
CT and MRI of the Whole BodyNow more streamlined and focused than ever before, the 6th edition of CT and MRI of the Whole Body is a definitive reference that provides you with an enhanced understanding of advances in CT and MR imaging, delivered by a new team of international associate editors. Perfect for radiologists who need a comprehensive reference while working on difficult cases, it presents a complete yet concise overview of imaging applications, findings, and interpretation in every anatomic area. The new edition of this classic reference - released in its 40th year in print - is a must-have resource, now brought fully up to date for today's radiology practice. Includes both MR and CT imaging applications, allowing you to view correlated images for all areas of the body. Coverage of interventional procedures helps you apply image-guided techniques. Includes clinical manifestations of each disease with cancer staging integrated throughout. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Over 5,200 high quality CT, MR, and hybrid technology images in one definitive reference. For the radiologist who needs information on the latest cutting-edge techniques in rapidly changing imaging technologies, such as CT, MRI, and PET/CT, and for the resident who needs a comprehensive resource that gives a broad overview of CT and MRI capabilities. Brand-new team of new international associate editors provides a unique global perspective on the use of CT and MRI across the world. Completely revised in a new, more succinct presentation without redundancies for faster access to critical content. Vastly expanded section on new MRI and CT technology keeps you current with continuously evolving innovations.
Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Diffusion Weighted Imaging of the Gastrointestinal TractThis book explains how diffusion weighted imaging has been incorporated in routine MRI examinations of the abdomen and pelvis: though its clinical role is still evolving, it is already considered an important tool for the assessment of rectal cancer treatment response, as was confirmed in recent ESGAR consensus statements. The standardization and clinical validation of quantitative DWI related biomarkers are still in progress, although certain efforts have been undertaken to establish imaging guidelines for different clinical indications/body parts. The book reviews the technical aspects and clinical applications of DWI in imaging of the GI tract, and provides specific technical details (imaging protocols, artefacts, optimization techniques) for each GI tract division. This volume is mainly intended for radiologists who are interested in abdominal radiology, as well as radiology residents. Given that magnetic resonance physics is complex and can be cumbersome to learn, the authors have made it as simple and practical as possible.
Publication Date: 2018-10-26
Emergency Radiology: Imaging of Acute PathologiesIn the emergency and trauma setting, accurate and consistent interpretation of imaging studies are critical to the care of acutely ill and injured patients. This book offers a comprehensive review of acute pathologies commonly encountered in the emergency room as diagnosed by radiologic imaging. It is organized by anatomical sections that present the primary ER imaging areas of the acute abdomen, pelvis, thorax, neck, head, brain and spine, and osseous structures. For each section, the common diagnoses are concisely described and are accompanied by relevant clinical facts and key teaching points that emphasize the importance of radiologic interpretation in clinical patient management. The role of modalities such as plain radiography, computed tomography, ultrasound, magnetic resonance imaging, and nuclear medicine imaging in managing emergency conditions is highlighted. The Second Edition is thoroughly updated and includes over 400 images and multiple choice questions in each chapter. Emphasizing the core concepts in emergency radiology, this book is a valuable resource for radiologists, residents, and fellows.
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
Errors in Emergency and Trauma RadiologyThis book describes and illustrates the gamut of errors that may arise during the performance and interpretation of imaging of both nontraumatic and traumatic emergencies, using a head-to-toe approach. The coverage encompasses mistakes related to suboptimal imaging protocols, failure to review a portion of the examination, satisfaction of search error, and misinterpretation of imaging findings. The book opens with an overview of an evidence-based approach to errors in imaging interpretation in patients in the emergency setting. Subsequent chapters describe errors in radiographic, US, multidetector CT, dual-energy CT, and MR imaging of common as well as less common acute conditions, including disorders in the pediatric population, and the unique mistakes in the imaging evaluation of pregnant patients. The book is written by a group of leading North American and European Emergency and Trauma Radiology experts. It will be of value to emergency and general radiologists, to emergency department physicians and related personnel, to general and trauma surgeons, and to trainees in all of these specialties.
Publication Date: 2019-04-03
Essentials of RadiologyIdeal for radiology residents and medical students, as well as anyone who reads or orders radiology imaging studies, this user-friendly reference covers the basics of how to approach, read, and interpret radiological images. Using concise, step-by-step explanations and an enjoyable writing style, expert radiologist Dr. Fred A Mettler, Jr., walks you through a sequential thought process for all common indications for radiologic studies and their interpretation. Featuring thorough updates from cover to cover, this resource covers the fundamental information you need to know, as well as recent advances in the field. Covers which modalities to use for common suspected problems, the benefits and limitations of each modality, potential complications, clinical findings, and interpretation tips to facilitate decision-making and treatment. Includes normal images and common variants in primary care practice and life-threatening abnormalities for quick identification and referral - all highlighted with over 1,000 radiographic images, many in comparative panels of normal, abnormal, or correlative findings. Features new information throughout: more than 100 new American College of Radiology Appropriateness Criteria variants, digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT), PET/CT, new screening guidelines for colon, breast, prostate and lung cancer, new quality and safety standards, and patient and inter-professional communication. Incorporates today's greater use of intermediate and advanced imaging technology, including CT, MR, and PET/CT, in addition to an emphasis on the most often-used imaging modalities such as ultrasound and plain film. Addresses core content of human anatomy and function/dysfunction as it relates to modern imaging. Features comprehensive tables of imaging indications for common problems across all body systems for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2018-10-11
Fundamentals of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound by Jon A. JacobsonEffectively perform and interpret musculoskeletal ultrasound with this concise, highly illustrated resource by Jon A. Jacobson, MD. Fully revised, this bestselling title covers all the essential details of musculoskeletal ultrasound imaging, providing a solid understanding of the technique and how to make accurate diagnoses. It takes a concise, clear, and step-by-step approach to all of the most common musculoskeletal ultrasound applications, with specific details on anatomy, patient positioning, scanning techniques, normal and abnormal findings, tips, and pitfalls. A succinct, highly accessible writing style makes information easy to understand. Over 200 narrated video clips of real-time dynamic ultrasound imaging provide instruction in a succinct, didactic format, highlighting key findings. Common percutaneous ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal procedures are demonstrated, including transducer and needle positioning. Nearly 400 new ultrasound images show scanning technique, anatomy, and essential pathology. Over 200 narrated video clips of real-time dynamic ultrasound imaging provide instruction in a succinct, didactic format, highlighting key findings. Newly revised information throughout helps you grasp essential concepts in diagnostic musculoskeletal ultrasound, ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal procedures, and much more. Chapter 1, Introduction and Chapter 2, Basic Pathology Concepts now included in both print and electronic versions. Thoroughly revised text, references, and images keep you up to date. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Muller's Imaging of the ChestReflecting recent major advances in the field, Müller's Imaging of the Chest, 2nd Edition, remains your go-to reference for all aspects of chest radiology, including the latest diagnostic modalities and interventional techniques. This exhaustive resource begins with a review of normal anatomy, progressing to expert coverage based first on how patients present in clinical practice, then on diagnosis or diagnostic category. This practical, easy-to-use format helps you effectively select and interpret the best imaging studies for the everyday challenges you face in thoracic imaging. Provides extensive new information on lung cancer screening, detailing the technique required to perform a lung cancer screening CT as well as how to interpret these examinations using ACR Lung-RADS. Contains four all-new chapters: Idiopathic pleuroparenchymal fibroelastosis, Interstitial pneumonia with autoimmune features, Non-infectious complications of lung and stem cell transplantation, and Leukemia. Updates you on recent advances regarding interstitial lung disease diagnosis, diffuse idiopathic pulmonary neuroendocrine cell hyperplasia (DIPNECH), interstitial pneumonia with autoimmune features (IPAF), pleuroparenchymal fibroelastosis, and much more. Explains the recent CT classification in usual interstitial pneumonia/idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (UIP/IPF) diagnosis and what features are required to correctly categorize a CT into one of four specific patterns. Covers current topics such as bacterial, viral, fungal, and parasitic infections, and new staging and histologic classifications for various lung neoplasms including lung cancer and mesothelioma. Features more than 3,100 superior, large digital-quality images (many in full color) depicting all of the chest imaging findings you're likely to see, and helping you distinguish between conditions with similar manifestations. Provides boxes highlighting key points to assist you with report writing, as well as suggestions for treatment and future imaging studies. Features a full-color design throughout, color-coded tables, classic signs boxes, and bulleted lists that highlight key concepts and get you to the information you need quickly. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2018-10-24
Musculoskeletal Diseases 2017-2020: Diagnostic ImagingThis book focuses on with musculoskeletal imaging: during the last few years, there have been considerable advances in this area, driven by clinical as well as technological developments. The authors, internationally renowned experts in their field, have contributed chapters that are disease-oriented and cover all relevant imaging modalities, including magnetic resonance imaging, computed tomography, and positron emission tomography. As a result, this book offers a comprehensive review of the state of the art in musculoskeletal imaging. It is a valuable resource for general radiologists, radiology residents, rheumatologists, orthopaedic surgeons, and clinicians from other specialities wishing to update their knowledge in this discipline.
Publication Date: 2017-04-27
Obstetric Imaging: Fetal Diagnosis and Care, 2nd ed.Richly illustrated and comprehensive in scope, Obstetric Imaging, 2nd Edition, provides up-to-date, authoritative guidelines for more than 200 obstetric conditions and procedures, keeping you at the forefront of this fast-changing field. This highly regarded reference covers the extensive and ongoing advances in maternal and fetal imaging in a concise, newly streamlined format for quicker access to common and uncommon findings. Detailed, expert guidance, accompanied by superb, high-quality images, helps you make the most of new technologies and advances in obstetric imaging. Features more than 1,350 high-quality images, including 400 in color, and over 85 videos online. Helps you select the best imaging approaches and effectively interpret your findings with a highly templated, bulleted, at-a-glance organization. Reflects all the latest developments in the field, including genetics, open fetal surgery, fetal echocardiography, Zika virus, and 3D imaging, so you can provide the safest and most responsive care to both mother and fetus. Includes new chapters on Limbs and Bones Overview; Open Fetal Surgery; Biophysical Profile; Ultrasound Physics; Elastography; Doppler; MRI; Echogenic Bowel; Pregnancy of Unknown Location (PUL), Failed Pregnancy and Ectopic Pregnancy, Cesarean Scar Pregnancy; Cytomegalovirus (CMG), Rubella, Toxoplasmosis, Herpes, Varicella; and Congenital Syphilis; plus a new chapter on Zika Virus written by imaging experts from the "hot zone." Keeps you up to date with the latest developments in multimodality imaging and optimizing diagnostic accuracy from ultrasound, 3D ultrasound, Doppler, MRI, elastography, image-guided interventions, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
Ultrasound Guided Musculoskeletal InjectionsAn ideal "how-to" guide for those who perform musculoskeletal injections, this unique multimedia resource by Drs. Gina M. Allen and David John Wilson demonstrates how to make the most out of the clear visualization provided by ultrasound-guided techniques. High-quality line drawings, clinical photographs, and ultrasound images clearly depict patient presentation, relevant anatomy, and sonoanatomy, and each technique is accompanied by a video showing exactly how to perform the procedure. Clear, concise text and numerous illustrations and videos make this reference your go-to source on today's ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal injections. Bulleted text follows a quick-reference template throughout: clinical/ultrasound findings, equipment, anatomy, technique, aftercare, and comments. Each chapter covers the entire injection process with text on the left-hand page and corresponding images on the right. Every technique is supported with a video available online. Useful for clinicians in radiology, sports medicine, rheumatology, orthopaedics, pain medicine, and physical therapy - anyone who needs a clear, current guide to this minimally invasive treatment option for pain relief. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.