Atlas of Laparoscopic and Robotic Urologic Surgery, 3rd ed.Written by recognized experts in this fast-changing field, this highly practical text by Drs. Jay T. Bishoff, Louis R. Kavoussi, and David A. Leavitt has been completely revised and greatly expanded to cover what you need to know about today's laparoscopic and robotic technology and techniques. Atlas of Laparoscopic and Robotic Urologic Surgery is a concise, thorough, superbly illustrated reference, perfect for learning new techniques or briefly reviewing before a case. You'll be guided through today's best minimally invasive approaches using new surgical systems and equipment, including third- and fourth-generation robotic devices. More than three hours of video instruction, step-by-step illustrations, tips and tricks, and information on complications helps you sharpen your skills in this high-demand area. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Twenty brand-new chapters on camera and lens systems, instrumentation, the da Vinci surgical system, pyelo/ureterolithotomy, robotic-assisted and laparoscopic simple prostatectomy, and more. Completely revised and updated chapters on laparoscopic partial nephrectomy and endoscopic inguinal lymph node dissection for penile cancer. More than 30 high-quality videos online (24 are brand new), including robotic retroperitoneal lymph node dissection, robotic assisted kidney transplantation, robotic simple prostatectomy, robotic cystectomy and robotic neobladder evolution, laparoscopic partial adrenalectomy, and many more. Cutting-edge topics including matured techniques for nephron sparing surgery, state-of-the-art nerve sparing for radical robotic prostatectomy, innovative approaches to treat ureteral strictures, up-to-date surgical care of malignancies, and novel pediatric surgeries.
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
Campbell-Walsh Urology, 11th ed.Internationally lauded as the preeminent text in the field, Campbell-Walsh Urology continues to offer the most comprehensive coverage of every aspect of urology. Perfect for urologists, residents, and practicing physicians alike, this updated 4-volume set highlights all of the essential concepts necessary for every stage of your career, from anatomy and physiology through the latest diagnostic approaches and medical and surgical treatments. Algorithms, photographs, radiographs, and line drawings illustrate essential concepts, nuances of clinical presentations and techniques, and decision making. Key Points boxes and algorithms further expedite review. Features hundreds of well-respected global contributors at the top of their respective fields. Four-volume set serves as a series of comprehensive mini-textbooks on every major subject in urology. A total of 22 new chapters, including Evaluation and Management of Men with Urinary Incontinence; Minimally-Invasive Urinary Diversion; Complications Related to the Use of Mesh and Their Repair; Focal Therapy for Prostate Cancer; Adolescent and Transitional Urology; Principles of Laparoscopic and Robotic Surgery in Children; Pediatric Urogenital Imaging; and Functional Disorders of the Lower Urinary Tract in Children. Previous edition chapters have been substantially revised and feature such highlights as new information on prostate cancer screening, management of non-muscle invasive bladder cancer, and urinary tract infections in children. Includes new guidelines on interstitial cystitis/bladder pain syndrome, uro-trauma, and medical management of kidney stone disease. Anatomy chapters have been expanded and reorganized for ease of access. Boasts an increased focus on robotic surgery, image-guided diagnostics and treatment, and guidelines-based medicine. Features 130 video clips that are easily accessible via Expert Consult. Periodic updates to the eBook version by key opinion leaders will reflect essential changes and controversies in the field. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience offers access to all of the text, figures, tables, diagrams, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. The new edition of Campbell-Walsh Urology is the must have reference for practitioners and residents!
Publication Date: 2015-11-05
Clinical Genitourinary PathologyThis book presents clinicopathological insights into common genitourinary diseases, especially those of neoplastic nature, and introduces experiential learning based on case presentations (case-based learning). One of the tasks that trainees face is converting the extensive amount of data into medical experience. Using successive microscopic images, the book gradually and analytically presents diagnostic procedures for the genitourinary system (kidney, urinary bladder, prostate gland and testis). Characteristic cases are presented for each organ, each ending with a clinical commentary and key messages. This form of presentation helps readers acquire the valuable skill of effective diagnostic thinking, focusing their attention on the essential microscopic findings and disregarding insubstantial findings. Although clinical applications are frequently based on pathological findings which therefore need to be clearly described and recorded, the importance of this in everyday medical practice is often ignored by medical students and downplayed by clinicians. Demonstrating how knowledge can be practically applied, the book is a valuable resource mainly for residents in pathology, urology and oncology but also for medical students with a special interest in histopathology.
Publication Date: 2018-07-25
Complications of Urologic SurgeryFrom the simple to the complex, Complications of Urologic Surgery, 5th Edition, by Drs. Samir S. Taneja and Ojas Shah, offers concise, to-the-point information on prevention and management strategies that help you provide the best patient care. Covering both office-based complications as well as common and uncommon surgical complications arising from open and minimally invasive urologic surgery, this updated, full-color volume is an invaluable resource for exam study or for convenient reference in everyday practice. Contains hundreds of self-assessment questions, case studies, and minimally invasive surgery videos on Expert Consult, as well as review questions and illustrated case studies throughout the book. Contains 14 new chapters including Management of Urine Leak, Urologic Surgery in the Pregnant Female, Complications of Gender Assignment Surgery, Urologic Surgery in the Previously Radiated Field, Complications of Robotic Pelvic Floor Reconstruction, and Complications of Robotic Cystectomy. Keeps you up to date with current preoperative management concerns including complications with effusion, hydrothorax, hemothorax, diaphragm injury, pneumonia, and air embolus. Features more than 180 superb new illustrations, graphs, and tables for easier understanding of complex concepts. Reviews new anticoagulant drugs and their risks and benefits. Provides thoroughly updated content on oncology, endourology, and pediatric surgeries - all areas experiencing tremendous changes since the previous edition. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Contemporary Pharmacotherapy of Overactive BladderThis text provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of pharmacotherapy for the overactive bladder, and serve as a valuable resource forclinicians, surgeons, and researchers with an interest in OAB. The early chapters will describe the pathophysiology of OAB, algorithm, and provide the readers with a practical guide for evaluating the OAB patient. The next section describes the unique challenges involved in the study of OAB and helps the reader navigate the complexities of the literature on the topic. All chapters are written by experts in their fields and include the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information. The text includes a review of the clinical guidelines for OAB, and a detailed description of the individual therapies, including antimuscarinics, Beta-3 agonists, (insert comma) and chemodenervation. Extensive tabulation of contemporary literature makes this a matchless resource that provides a detailed account of the current evidence for the use of each of these therapies. The text concludes with chapters on unique populations with OAB, and future directions in the research field. Contemporary Pharmacotherapy of Overactive Bladder unites a unique set of thought leaders in the field of voiding dysfunction to create a comprehensive resource that will be useful for a variety of clinicians who treat OAB, including urologists, urogynecologists, general gynecologists, family practitioners, and geriatricians.
Publication Date: 2018-10-06
Contemporary Treatment of Erectile DysfunctionNow in a revised and expandedsecond edition, this comprehensive clinical guide remains a state-of-the-art synthesis of the literature, covering all aspects of treatingerectile dysfunction (ED) and other related male sexual dysfunctions.Cardiovascular, hormonal, psychological and lifestyle factors are eachconsidered in diagnosis and treatment, which includes pharmacological, surgicaland prosthetic management strategies. The effects of prostate cancer and its treatmentare also discussed, as are Peyronie's disease, priapism and ejaculatorydisorders. New chapters in this edition discuss the profound effects oflifestyle change on sexual function, alternative and internet drugs that affectsexual function, endovascular approaches to ED, penile length considerations,the effect of radiation on erectile function, and optimizing ED research.Presenting a better understanding of what causes erectile dysfunction and theeffective medications and non-medication treatments used to treat thecondition, this invaluable title offers all physicians, residents, and fellows- and even medical students and other health professionals such as nursepractitioners and physician assistants - an essential reference for enhancingdiagnosis and treatment of this common and debilitating disorder.
Publication Date: 2016-08-26
Diffusion Weighted Imaging of the Genitourinary SystemThis book discusses diffusion weighted imaging (DWI) and its evolving clinical role. DWI has frequently been used in the abdomen and pelvis but is now increasingly being used in other clinical applications, especially for the diagnostic workup of oncologic patients. Standardization and clinical validation of quantitative DWI related biomarkers is still ongoing, although efforts have been undertaken, especially in the prostate, to provide standardized imaging guidelines for different clinical indications. The technical aspects and clinical applications of DWI presented focus on the respective anatomical region and its pathologies. The book is unique in providing tables of technical details (imaging protocols, artifacts, optimization techniques) for each chapter, making this complex area as simple and practical as possible. The book is intended for radiologists interested in urogenital radiology and also for radiology residents.
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Hinman's Atlas of Urologic SurgeryDepend on Hinman's for up-to-date, authoritative guidance covering the entire scope of urologic surgery. Regarded as the most authoritative surgical atlas in the field, Hinman's Atlas of Urologic Surgery, 4th Edition, by Drs. Joseph A. Smith, Jr., Stuart S. Howards, Glenn M. Preminger, and Roger R. Dmochowski, provides highly illustrated, step-by-step guidance on minimally invasive and open surgical procedures, new surgical systems and equipment, and laparoscopic and robotic techniques. New chapters keep you up to date, and all-new commentaries provide additional insight from expert surgeons. Provides access to procedural videos online, including Percutaneous Renal Cryotherapy, Greenlight Photovaporization of the Prostate, Holmium Laser Enucleation of the Prostate, Cryoablation of a Renal Tumor, and Sling Procedures in Women. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features 10 new chapters, including Radical Cystectomy in the Male, Robotic Urinary Diversion, Laparoscopic and Robotic Simple Prostatectomy, Transrectal Ultrasound-Directed Prostate Biopsy, Transperineal Prostate Biopsy, Prostate Biopsy with MRI Fusion, Focal Therapies in the Treatment of Prostate Cancer, Brachy Therapy, Male Urethral Sling, and Botox Injection for Urologic Conditions. Includes new commentaries in every chapter from today's leading urologists. Offers a step-by-step incremental approach, highlighted by new illustrations, photos, and images. Keeps you current with significant revisions to all female sling chapters, urethroplasty chapters, and more. Helps you find what you need quickly with a clear, easy-to-use format - now reorganized to make navigation even easier.
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
An Illustrated Guide to Pediatric UrologyThis book is vital for physicians caring for young patients with urological conditions, as a quick reference book that is easy to read and well-illustrated. Pediatric urological conditions are fairly common, and infants and children are seen on daily basis with urological problems either in clinics or in hospitals. This book is useful to general surgeons, pediatricians, pediatric surgeons, fellows, residents, general physicians and family physicians, medical students and nurses. The Editor has gained experience in the diagnosis and management of various urological problems in infants and children, working in busy hospital over the last 25 years.
Publication Date: 2016-11-17
Male Stress Urinary IncontinenceThis book aims to offer a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of male stress urinary incontinence that will serve as a useful tool and reference for urologists, andrologists, physiotherapists, general practitioners, and nurses. Detailed information is provided on diagnostic workup, including clinical assessment and the role of urodynamic evaluations and other instrumental examinations, and on the full range of potential treatments, from conservative and pharmacological interventions to surgical options. In addition to careful descriptions of the surgical procedures themselves, clear advice is given on the management of iatrogenic complications of incontinence surgery. Helpful treatment algorithms and recommendations offer further practical support. Relevant background knowledge is provided in expert reviews of topics such as the functional anatomy of the male pelvis and the pathophysiology, epidemiology, and classification of male urinary incontinence.
Publication Date: 2015-06-29
Management of Prostate CancerThis book, now in an extensively revised second edition, provides an exhaustive review of the state of the art in the management of prostate cancer, from screening to treatment, with emphasis on a multidisciplinary approach. The editors are very excited about the outstanding new or updated contributions from the different expert authors. The opening chapters address basic aspects including epidemiology, pathology, biology, genetics, and chemoprevention. The role of individual and mass screening is carefully appraised, and extensive attention is devoted to diagnosis and clinical work-up by means of recently implemented investigations such as multiparametric MRI and choline PET-CT. The use of active surveillance is examined in detail. Subsequent chapters discuss the different therapies that may be employed: open and minimally invasive, including robot-assisted, radical prostatectomy, the various forms of radiation treatment, high-intensity focused ultrasound, cryotherapy, hormonal manipulations, chemotherapy, targeted therapies, and immunotherapy. Up-to-date results from practice-changing phase III randomized clinical trials are included and special insights are provided into the interpretation of results and the patient's perspective.
Publication Date: 2017-02-04
Nutritional and Medical Management of Kidney StonesThis text comprehensively covers the nutritional and medical management and prevention of kidney stones. Sections address types of stones, nutritional risks, medical and pharmaceutical managements, prevention of recurrence, and special consideration of stone risks among specific diseases such as obesity with gastric bypass, chronic kidney disease, and gastric intestinal disorders. Diagnosis of kidney stones, urinalysis and biochemical indices, dietary assessment, and medical nutrition therapy for specific types of kidney stones are also included. In addition, case studies are provided in the appendix. Cutting edge research is also highlighted in regards to pharmaceutical treatments and epidemiological findings in nutrition and kidney stones. Nutrition in Medical Management of Kidney Stones will be a practical resource for health professionals in the fields of nutrition, nephrology, urology, and general medicine, as well as medical students, resident physicians, and allied health clinicians whose research, practice, and education includes nutrition and kidney stones.
Publication Date: 2019-07-24
Post-Prostatectomy IncontinenceThis text provides a comprehensive, state - of - the art review of this new and emerging field, as the number of men who suffer from post-prostatectomy incontinence increases by greater than 10,000 per year. How to evaluate and manage this devastating disorder has become a necessary part of nearly every urologic practice. This book serves a valuable resource for physicians with an interest in managing patients with post-prostatectomy incontinence. In addition, treatment includes algorithms and suggested office evaluation that will help guide conservative management that is appropriate for most patients. The text provides insight into the history of male incontinence surgery, as well as the current surgical techniques for the operative management of post-prostatectomy incontinence in those who fail conservative management. This text reviews current data regarding surgical outcomes for the most common and newly developed incontinence procedures, as well as step-by-step descriptions of the key surgical steps necessary for success. All chapters are written by world renowned experts in this field and include the most up to date clinical information.
Publication Date: 2017-07-21
Precision Molecular Pathology of Prostate CancerThis volume focuses on our current understanding of the molecular underpinnings of prostate cancer and their potential application for precision medicine approaches. The emergence and applications of new technologies has allowed for a rapid expansion of our understanding of the molecular basis of prostate cancer and has revealed a remarkable genetic heterogeneity that may underlie the clinically variable behavior of the disease. The book consists of five sections which provide insight about the following: (1) General principles; (2) Molecular signatures of primary prostate cancer; (3) Molecular signatures of advanced prostate cancer; (4) Key molecular pathways in prostate cancer development and progression; (5) and Precision medicine approach: Diagnosis, treatment, prognosis. Precision Molecular Pathology of Prostate Cancer is an important resource for the practicing oncologist, urologist, and pathologist, and will also be useful for researchers in the prostate cancer community.
Publication Date: 2018-02-22
Retrograde UreteroscopyRetrograde Ureteroscopy: Handbook of Endourology contains five focused, review-oriented volumes that are ideal for students and clinicians looking for a comprehensive review rather than a whole course. Each volume is easily accessible through eBook format. Topics covered review both the endourological diagnosis and treatment of prostate, urethral, urinary bladder, upper urinary tract, and renal pathology, with all chapters describing the most recent techniques, reviewing the latest results, and analyzing the most modern technologies. In the past ten years, the field of endourology has expanded beyond the urinary tract to include all urologic, minimally-invasive surgical procedures. Recent advancements in robotic and laparoscopic bladder surgery make this one of the fastest moving fields in medicine. As current textbooks are too time-consuming for busy urologists or trainees who also need to learn other areas of urology, this collection provides a quick references with over 4000 images that are appropriate for fellows and those teaching in the field. Offers review content for urologists in training and "refresher" content for experts in endourology Explores new surgical techniques and technology through review-level content and extensive images of pathologies Includes over 500 images per volume that were taken from more than 4000 endourologic procedures performed annually at the editor's hospital
Publication Date: 2016-04-08
Robotic UrologyThis updated edition offers guidance on the application of robotic surgery in urology. Each technique is described in detail, with careful explanation of the different surgical steps The book brings together leading robotic surgeons from around the world and utilises their knowledge once again to update and provide a manual that covers all the oncologic and reconstructive procedures in urologic surgery that are performed with robotic assistance This book serves as an ideal reference work for all urologists and should contribute in supporting new robotic teams
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.