Dizziness and Vertigo Across the LifespanGet a quick, expert overview of dizziness and vertigo from childhood through old age with this concise, practical resource. Drs. Bradley W. Kesser and Tucker Gleason have assembled a leading team of experts to address timely clinical topics of interest to otolarynologists and other health care providers who see patients with these common problems.
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
ENT Core KnowledgeThis concise book summarises the basic knowledge required to be an otolaryngologist. It covers the 300 main diseases of ear, nose and throat, summarizing the main symptoms of each, the required diagnostic process and the therapeutic approach. This compact presentation of knowledge is very useful and practical. The reader can quickly access essential information on the majority of the ENT diseases. ENT: Core Knowledge is ideal for ENT residents who are preparing for Board exams, for specialists who want to refresh and update their knowledge, and for general practitioners with a special interest in ENT.
Infectious Diseases in Pediatric OtolaryngologyThis quick reference on pediatric infectious diseases of the ear, nose, and throat provides reliable assistance in decision-making and management. To this end, numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms are included. Practicing pediatricians, primary care practitioners, and otolaryngologists will all find the book to be an invaluable aid. This book helps the otolaryngologist who is uncertain of the best antibiotic or duration of treatment for a particular condition and instruct the pediatrician on when to refer to an otolaryngologist for surgical management. The approach is multidisciplinary, with contributions from both pediatric otolaryngologists and pediatric infectious disease physicians.
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Kanski's Clinical OphthalmologyKanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach is the classic specialty text providing the perfect ophthalmology foundation for trainees through to experienced practitioners. The famous visually dynamic and succinct format enables easy comprehension and focused guidance in the diagnosis and management of ophthalmic disorders. "...must-have comprehensive reference for any general ophthalmic practice." Reviewed by Doody's Review Service, Sept 2015 "...outstanding and excellent textbook." Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, July 2015 "Whether you're learning ophthalmology for the first time, preparing for OKAP/board exams, or trying to remember some detail years down the road to help one of your patients, this text is a fantastic reference." Blog: Ophthalmologyreview, Nov 2015 Build the ultimate foundation in ophthalmology with this market-leading resource. Benefit from guidance on examination, imaging, and the recognition of systemic conditions associated with ocular disease. Completely revised by award-winning ophthalmic educator Brad Bowling, the eighth edition reflects the latest advances, making this an indispensable resource to enhance learning, aid exam preparation and guide clinical practice. Designed for rapid reference and efficient recall, the concise but comprehensive chapters use crisp targeted text, bulleted lists, tables and visual aids to highlight salient points across all ophthalmology subspecialties. Features detailed updates on key evolving topics such as the spectrum of macular disease, with many new disorders added to this edition across a range of subspecialties. Increased emphasis on practical investigation and management. Includes 2,600 illustrations, images and artworks, with over 900 brand new for this edition, including ultra wide-field imaging, fundus autofluorescence, and high-resolution OCT. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and tables from the book on a variety of devices. Kanski & Bowling deliver everything you need to know about ophthalmology today in a multimedia format that ensures efficient, effective recall.
Publication Date: 2015-05-22
Operative Otolaryngology, 3rd ed.Emergent operative technologies and surgical approaches have transformed today's otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, and the 3rd Edition of Operative Otolaryngology brings you up to date with all that's new in the field. You'll find detailed, superbly illustrated guidance on all of the endoscopic, microscopic, laser, surgically-implantable, radio-surgical, neurophysiological monitoring, and MR- and CT-imaging technological advances that now define contemporary operative OHNS - all in one comprehensive, two-volume reference. Covers everything from why a procedure should be performed to the latest surgical techniques to post-operative management and outcomes - from experts in otolaryngology, plastic surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, neurological surgery, and ophthalmology. Features a newly streamlined, templated chapter format that makes information easier to access quickly. Includes all-new videos (more than 150 videos in all) showing step-by-step techniques and procedures such as management of tracheal stenosis and transoral and robotic tonsil surgery for cancers of the base of tongue and pharynx, plus new full-color clinical photographs and line drawings throughout the text. Combines all pediatric procedures into one comprehensive section for quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of endoscopic techniques for cranial base surgery, plus information on the latest endoscopic cancer techniques including robotic surgery, minimally invasive thyroid surgery, and new techniques for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea including implantable nerve stimulators. Contains state-of-the-art guidance on the ear/temporal bone/skull base, including fully- and semi-implantable auditory implants, vestibular implants, imaging advances, radiosurgical treatment of posterior fossa and skull base neoplasms, intraoperative monitoring of cranial nerve and CNS function, minimally-invasive surgical approaches to the entire skull base, vertigo and postural disequilibrium, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
Regenerative Medicine in OtolaryngologyThis book describes an exciting new movement using regenerative medicine to treat patients with otolaryngological diseases. The emerging field of regenerative medicine uses tissue engineering, which combines medicine and engineering not only to treat the diseases themselves but also to enable recovery of the function of affected areas. As otolaryngology covers wide regions, including many diseases of the head and neck, the book is divided into sections, each corresponding to a different anatomical structure -- the ear, nose, oral cavity, pharynx, larynx and head and neck. The structural developments of each region, the underlying mechanisms of diseases specific to these regions, their experimental models and proposals for new regenerative treatment are all discussed in detail. The various diseases and symptoms considered in the book include inner ear and middle ear diseases, rhinitis, nasal sinusitis and otolaryngological cancers. To date there have been few clinical studies reporting regenerative medical applications in the field of otolaryngology, but in this volume leading authors present the latest research findings to help provide new therapies for patients in the future. This state-of-the-art information makes the book a valuable professional reference work for all doctors and researchers who focus on regenerative treatments in the field of otolaryngology and neuroscience.
Sleep Apnea and SnoringRecent years have brought many significant changes to the field of sleep apnea and snoring, and this revised 2nd Edition keeps you up to date with every effective intervention. Sleep Apnea and Snoring: Surgical and Non-Surgical Therapy, 2nd Edition, takes a focused, multidisciplinary approach to all sleep apnea and snoring related illnesses, making it an outstanding reference for surgery in this key area within otolaryngology. New chapters, new video clips, new techniques and procedures, and new contributing authors ensure that you're completely up to date. Covers recent topics such as transoral robotic assisted surgery, new techniques in nasal valve repair, and pediatric patients and sleep apnea. New video clips show a variety of procedures including maxillofacial surgical techniques for hypopharyngeal obstruction in obstructive sleep apnea, maxillary distraction osteogenesis with palatal implants for obstructive sleep apnea, drug induced sleep endoscopy for pediatric patients, and more. New chapters cover home sleep testing, lingual tonsil grading system, algorithms for surgery and for multi-level treatment, new techniques in nasal valve repair, and transoral robotic assisted surgery (TORS for OSA). New authors and associate editors provide a fresh perspective throughout the text. Includes contributions from leaders in neurology, pulmonology, psychiatry, otolaryngology, and oral and maxillofacial surgery to create a truly multi-disciplinary approach. Uses a consistent, templated, full-color format for quick, easy access to the most up-to-date surgical and non-surgical interventions for sleep apnea and snoring. Details when and why surgery is necessary, and how to perform a successful operation for snoring and sleep apnea. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.