Tax Law Research Guide: Secondary Sources for Tax Law and Analysis

If you need help finding a relevant treatise, this guide will provide you with some of the most useful titles in each subject. This guide was created and is maintained by the Law Librarians at Vanderbilt Law School.

This widely-cited tax treatise covers federal income tax law and provides 19 volumes—15 text volumes, an Index volume, a Tables volume, a Table of Cases volume, and a Current Materials volume (for Mertens Highlights)—and two annual Internal Revenue Code pamphlets. It has looseleaf pages, but is filed as text and supplement (instead of being interfiled).
Available to the Vanderbilt Law community.
Current through December 2016 update.

This treatise on federal income tax, estate & gift tax, international tax, and federal tax procedure, is drawn from fifteen premier Matthew Bender tax treatises, including Taxation of Inventories, Rhoades & Langer U.S. International Tax & Tax Treaties, Federal Tax Practice & Procedure, Tax Controversies, Tax Planning for Corporations and Shareholders, and others, and is updated weekly.
Available to Vanderbilt Law community.

The SFTR is a code-arranged reporter covering Federal income tax law that allows you to navigate between its component parts. The full text of an Internal Revenue Code section, with brief legislative history notes, is followed by the relevant committee reports in full text, final, temporary and proposed regulations, editorially prepared explanations, and annotations. Caution lines and notes are used to alert you to special circumstances concerning a Code section, regulation or annotation. Practice aids, tax rates and other tables, a tax calendar and separate tax planning sections for individuals and businesses are included in FED. Also included are full text IRS documents (regulations, revenue rulings and procedures), case annotations and other source documents for the current year.
Available to the Vanderbilt community.

Annotations includes summaries of federal cases and IRS rulings organized by both Code section and legal issue. Explanations offers full explanations of the law, regulations and major cases and rulings organized by IRC section.

The U.S. Master Tax Guide contains timely and precise explanations of federal income taxes for individuals, partnerships, corporations, estates and trusts, as well as new rules established by key court decisions and the IRS.

REF KF6720.Z9 G45 2007
Main Reading Room
Study Aids Shelf
Also available on Westlaw to law users only.

REF KF6369.3 .M3 2012
Main Reading Room
Study Aids Shelf
Also available on Westlaw to law users only.

REF KF6369 .B26 2014
Main Reading Room
Study Aids Shelf

REF KF6369 .W38 2011
Main Reading Room
Study Aids Shelf

REF KF6289.85 .M38 2012
Main Reading Room
Study Aids Shelf

REF HJ2250 .S58 2015
Main Reading Room
Study Aids Shelf
Online

Offers news covering legal, legislative, regulatory, and economic developments. Specialty areas include corporate law, employment & labor law, environmental law, tax & accounting, and more.
Available on Bloomberg Law to law users only.

Coverage of legislative, regulatory, and legal tax developments.
Published each business day, except federal holidays
Archived Date: Back to January 3, 1994
Available on Bloomberg Law to law users only.

Definitive report on IRS procedural developments, IRS positions, and new IRS trends and techniques.
Published each month.
Archived Date: Back to December 11, 1998
Available in Bloomberg Law to law users only.

Coverage of topics of interest to practitioners tracking sales and use taxes.
Published each business day.
Archived Date: Back to July 6, 2010
Available on Bloomberg Law to law users only.

Tracks and summarizes daily state tax developments, covering a full range of tax topics.
Updated continually.
Available on Bloomberg Law to law users only.

Coverage of issues, developments, trends, and strategies in business tax planning.
Published every other week.
Archived Date: Back to May 24, 1999
ISSN: 1544-077X
Available on Bloomberg Law to law users only.