Misc Primary Sources - ECON 2150 - Economic History of the United States

Oral histories

Oral histories of the American South
500 oral history interviews collected by the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP).
Early Bay Area Venture Capitalists
Videotaped interviews with the first generation of venture capitalists during the 1960s and 1970s.
Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History
Veterans of Seattle's civil rights campaigns tell their stories in streaming video oral histories.
Organized Labor in Muncie Oral History Project
Series of oral history projects documenting Muncie, Indiana's, economic and social history during the era of deindustrialization.

Additional primary source collections

African American Communities
"A diverse range of primary source material is showcased in this collection that focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community."
American History, 1493-1945
"This collection traces the progress of American History and extensively covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II."
American Indian Newspapers
"American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016."
American West
"Comprised of original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps and ephemeral material from the Everett D.Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, American West is a unique resource which allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Indigenous Peoples, vigilantes and outlaws."
Colonial America
"Sourced from The National Archives UK, Colonial America offers access to thousands of documents on North America from 1606-1822. Described as an ‘indispensable’ resource for researchers of the early-modern Atlantic world and winner of Library Journal’s ‘Best Reference’ Award, scholars and researchers have clamoured for access to this material for years."
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
"A unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer."
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
"Uncover the history of ‘popular’ remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America, through primary source materials from the extensive collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art."

ECON 2150 - Economic History of the United States: Misc Primary Sources

Oral histories

Additional primary source collections