Data & Statistics - HIST 2138 - Blood Diamonds, Blood, Oil, Commodities and Conflicts in Africa

Data & Statistical Sources

EIU: Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive
Covering almost 200 countries, each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.

EIU Country Reports (1996-current)
Covers 1996 to current for country-specific reports covering economy, politics, and society.

EIU: Economist Intelligence Unit
In-depth reports that include political and economic data and policies. Three separate databases: Country Report, Country Profile, and CountryData.
IMF eLibrary
Books, periodicals, working papers, and country reports on the International Monetary Fund's activities, policies, and member countries.

World DataBank: World Development Indicators
Collection of time-series data, and global development indicators. Cross-country comparable statistics about development and people’s lives around the globe and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Coverage: 1960 to present.
IMF eLibrary - Data
International statistics related to domestic and international finance. International payments, rates of inflation & deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, monetary policy, interest rates, etc. Includes Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Trade and Investment, and International Financial Statistics (IFS).
Coverage: Historical data for BOP, DOT, and IFS are available from 1948, and for GFS from 1972.
Sage Data
Dynamically compare and manipulate statistical data to create tables, maps, and figures.
Statista
Quantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Please note: To access the eCommerce Insights module within Statista, click Insights > Explore eCommerce Insights and then click Login from at the top right of the screen.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Federal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
Coverage: From the U.S. government, 1973 to present; from international intergovernmental, 1983 to present.

African Studies Internet Resources (Columbia University)
Country Portal for Africa
African Studies Centre (Leiden, Netherlands) country portal provides a list of free internet resources and other information on Africa.