Have you scheduled your research consultation yet?
Take advantage of one of the most useful and time-saving services the Library offers: personalized, one-on-one research consultations!
Consultations are driven by YOUR needs, the needs of the researcher. I can help you:
- Find the best sources and resources related to your topic, whether they are books, journal articles, databases, or more.
- Master the Library’s search tools so you can find what you’re looking for effectively and efficiently.
- Discover sources you may have missed in your research so far to make sure you leave no stone unturned.
To schedule your consult, use the online scheduler!
Finding Sources
The following databases will be of use for your research:
-
ProQuest Criminal JusticeA comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice articles.
-
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium CollectionInternational literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
-
Google Scholar Vanderbilt LoginUse this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus. Google Scholar will also find important articles in HeinOnline and JSTOR.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
More InfoVendor Tutorials: Add VU to your Google profile - https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings -
Historical AbstractsArticles on the history of the world (except the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
-
Library CatalogA tool that lets you search many resources at once. It includes articles as well as books you can find in the library.
-
List of All DatabasesA link to all databases that Vanderbilt provides. Find a database by name or by subject (Sociology, Law, etc.)
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
If you need some statistics, the resources below may be useful. It is a good idea to get statistics well before you finish your research. The number you need may not have been collected.
-
Uniform Crime ReportsStatistics on and analysis of violent crimes of murder, manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, and aggravated assault and the property crimes of burglary, larceny-theft, motor vehicle theft, arson, and hate crimes as reported by state and local law enforcement agencies. Covers crime trends and provides statistics for nation, region, state, county, and city.
-
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsData on criminal justice in the United States. Characteristics of the criminal justice systems, public attitudes toward crime, known offenses, characteristics and distribution of persons arrested, judicial processing of defendants, persons under correctional supervision
-
Bureau of Justice StatisticsThe Bureau of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
What Google Scholar does not contain, in most cases, is the fulltext of the articles -- but it does work with the library's Findit@VU service to help you get to the fulltext when available. If you are on campus, Findit@VU will automatically appear -- but if you are off campus it won't. Not clicking on Findit@VU may lead to you receiving a message indicating that you must purchase the article to view it.
Bookmark this link as your access point to Google Scholar to ensure that the Findit@VU links appears in your searches or follow the instructions for setting your preferences in the video below. Don't get caught paying for articles when you don't have to!
