Skip to Main Content
  2. Research Guides

Data Science Career Support

This guide exists to save you time and uncertainty. Instead of sifting through endless resources, you’ll see a curated list of databases to help guide you as you explore careers. The included databases and datasets are designed to help you explore industr

List of prospective employers

Library Recommended Databases:

  • PitchBook 
    • Private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on a wide range of companies including startups. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. Licensed for academic & curricular uses only. All accounts are reset in May of each year to ensure compliance. Having trouble registering with Pitchbook? Please see our FAQ at https://libanswers.library.vanderbilt.edu/management/faq/430223. 
  • Hoovers 
    • Provides details on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news. Search by company name. Note the *type* of company that you select, i.e. make sure you are choosing the parent company vs. a subsidiary or single location. Company profile includes: analyst and market reports, SWOT's, current news, contacts, financials. If you are only going to look at one aspect of the company on this page please review the internal and external Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats.

Preparing for conversations

Not sure where to start? Looking to learn more about an industry? What questions should you ask at the end of an interview? IBISWorld is the database you want to start with and if you don't have time for more this database will leave you on good footing.

Content includes:

  • Call Prep Questions 
    • Scroll down the contents on the sidebar to access industry and role specific questions quickly. 
  • Industry SWOT Analysis
    • This chart will help you understand the industries strengths, weakness, opportunities, and threats of a particular field.
  • Leading Companies
    • Gather information on the major players leading the industries while obtaining an overview on impacts of regulations.
  • Statistics
    • Understand how the marketing is changing to make future growth predictions. 
  • Country, State, and Local Level
    • Capture the market and explore where the industry is flourishing and withering. 

All content can be downloaded as a pdf. Data can be downloaded directly into excel. Reports are updated at least twice per year, depending on the volatility of the industry