Primary Sources - ANTH 2106 - Culture and Power in Latin America - Zavaleta

Other Newspaper Sources

These newspapers are accessible from other institutions.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
he Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.
Latin American Newspapers - CRL
Latin American Newspapers provides access to fully searchable newspapers from around Latin America published between 1805 and 1922. Content is selected from the collections of CRL and partner libraries including the University of Florida, University of Texas at Austin, Berkeley, Yale, and New York Public Library.
Chronicling America
The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress, is a long-term effort to provide permanent, free access to historic newspapers selected and digitized by NEH-funded awardees in the United States. The NDNP incorporates newspapers published from 1836-1963 into a national digital newspaper resource, Chronicling America, where the digitized pages are made available. Chronicling America's U.S. Newspaper Directory 1690-present includes newspapers from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Primary Source Databases

Vanderbilt provides access to a variety of primary source databases related to Latin America and the Caribbean, including government documents and research related to Cold War interventionism, historic newspapers, and other manuscripts, documents, and ephemera from throughout the region.

Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS) (now called U.S. Declassified Documents Online) This link opens in a new window
Declassified government documents covering major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Cabinet meeting minutes, correspondence, diary entries, intelligence reports, political analyses and technical studies from the White House, State Department, National Security Agency, FBI, and CIA.
Confidential Print: Latin America This link opens in a new window
Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1833-1969. Documents include dispatches, telegrams, investigative reports and treaties. Revolutions, political movements, railway development, the Panama Canal, the slave trade, immigration, the Vargas dictatorship in Brazil, indigenous relations.
Coverage: 1833-1969.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean covering current issues and events as well as historical events back to the colonial period.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new window
Pamphlets about Brazil, focused on history, politics and literature (for example: travel, immigration, public health).
Coverage: 1803-1930.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of declassified documents relating to U.S. foreign policy decisions from post-World War II to the present.
Coverage: 1945 to present.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspapers from Latinx presses on both Hispanic American and Latin American subjects. Published in Spanish, English, and bilingually from across 22 states, the newspapers provide a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers, and grassroots figures.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Alternative press journals, magazines, and newspapers covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, gays, lesbians, etc.
Coverage: 1951-2015.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Highly recommended comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Coverage: 1970 to present.

Latinx History in History Vault
This category contains two modules, Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration: Records of the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs (1979-1981) and Bexar Archives: Colonial Archives of Texas during the Spanish and Mexican Periods, 1717-1836.

Other Relevant Digital Collections

The Digital Archive of the Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala
The Digital Archive of the Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala (Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive, or AHPN) aims to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation about Guatemalan history.
more...less...
Guatemala’s Policía Nacional (National Police, PN) dates to 1872, when the government of Miguel García Granados created the Guardia Civil, a small force dedicated to the vigilance and security of the capital city. As the institution evolved, it remained closely tied to Guatemala’s military and frequently carried out repressive activities on behalf of the state. Following the 1954 coup, the Policía Nacional became an integral component of state-led repression during Guatemala’s thirty-six-year armed internal conflict which, between 1960 and 1996, claimed 200,000 lives and displaced over one million people according to data from the Historical Clarification Commission (Comisión para el Esclarecimiento Histórico, CEH). Because of its connection to human rights atrocities during the war, the Policía Nacional were disbanded as part of the country’s 1996 Peace Accords and replaced in 1997 by the present institution, the Policía Nacional Civil (National Civil Police, PNC).
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
Anarchist and Syndicalist Periodicals from Latin America
A collection of anarchist, syndicalist, and labor periodicals from Latin American countries.
Freedom of Information Act Documents on Latin America
The Freedom of Information Act generally provides that any person has a right, enforceable in court, to obtain access to federal agency records, except to the extent that such records (or portions of them) are protected from public disclosure by national security laws.
Nuevas Raíces
New Roots: Voices from Carolina del Norte! This is a bilingual oral history archive that explores Latin American and Caribbean heritage in the U.S. South. Listen to the first-hand perspectives of North Carolinians who share experiences of migration, settlement, demographic change, and leadership.
Taller de Grafica Popular Collection - University of New Mexico
Collection consists of posters (74+), flyers (71+), prints (50+), serials (57+), filmstrip illustrations (5+), ephemera (76+), and objects (1 printing block) ranging in date from 1935-2001. Subjects predominately focus on international issues of the 1940s-1960s, including fascism and national socialism, in addition to Mexican topics, such as agriculture, labor issues, and the nationalization of the petroleum industry. Urban and rural issues are addressed and most all works contain a social/political message conveyed through texts and graphics. Most works are identified by artist, date, and a title. There are a small number of TGP-related works and works done by guest artists invited to work at the TGP.

Some of the artists represented in this collection are Alfredo Zalce, Luis Arenal, Alberto Beltran, Angel Bracho, Leopoldo Mendez, Pablo O'Higgins and Mariana Yampolsky.

Vanderbilt's Special Collections

Manuel and Delia Zapata Olivella Collections
Zapata Olivella, noted Afro-Colombian novelist, anthropologist, folklorist, physician and playwright was known throughout Latin America as the “Dean of Black Hispanic Writers.” Delia Zapata Olivella, a Colombian dancer, choreographer, folklorist, and sister of Colombian author Manuel Zapata Olivella, committed her life’s work to recording, disseminating, and promoting Colombian folkloric culture.