Reference
-
The Cambridge Companion to Malcolm X
Unlimited User Database access available -
The Malcolm X Encyclopedia
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; BP223 .Z8 L573 2002ISBN: 9780313292644 -
Malcolm X: A Selected Bibliography
Call Number: Divinity LIbrary 1st Floor ; BP 395 .X17 D385 1984Print Only Available. -
African American culture : an encyclopedia of people, traditions, and customs
Unlimited User Ebook Available -
American Voices: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Orators
Call Number: Central Library Central Reference; PS408 .A47 2005 -
Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors Over the Past 200 Years
Call Number: Central Library Central Reference PS153 .N5 B556 1992 -
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
Call Number: Annex Remote; BP67 .U6 E53 2007Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Unlimited User Ebook Available -
50 Events That Shaped African American History
Multiuser Ebook Available
Journal Articles
-
Proquest One Black Studies This link opens in a new window
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books. Includes The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
-
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowBibliographical index covering academic and popular film journals. Includes: "International Index to Film Periodicals," "Treasures from Film Archives," and "Documentation Collections."
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Primary Sources
-
Malcom X Project at Columbia UniversityDocuments and research supporting the book Malcolm X: Life of Reinvention.
-
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowIncludes FBI File on Malcolm X, Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial, and other collections related to movements for Black Freedom.
-
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Collection of non-fiction writings of leading African-Americans. Includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text copies of Muhammad Speaks, the official publication of the Nation of Islam, which includes speeches by Malcolm X.
-
Proquest One Black Studies This link opens in a new window
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books. Includes The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.
-
Malcolm X Collection: Papers 1948-1965Held at the Schomburg Center, New York Public Library, the Malcolm X Collection is divided into nine series, the bulk of which range from 1961 to 1964. The papers consist of personal and family memorabilia, correspondence, writings and notes, selected organizational records and printed matter.
-
Malcolm X Speech Archive: Washington University Film & Media ArchivesVideo archives of Malcolm X speeches held at Washington University (St. Louis).
-
Muhammad Speaks Archive (NOI)Archive of issues of Muhmmad Speaks (1960-1975) as archived by the Nation of Islam.
-
Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU) collection 1963-1965OAAU collection held at the Schomburg Center, New York Public Library
-
African American Experience This link opens in a new windowArticles, audio clips, images, primary source documents, maps, monographs, and government documents covering all aspects of the African American experience from Greenwood Press, Negro University Press, etc.
-
African American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowExtensive African American newspaper archives. Includes the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, Freedom's Journal (NY), The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), etc.
-
African American Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Primary source material for the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Includes: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
-
African American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowHoldings of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).
-
Magazine Archives (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Collection of popular magazine archives.
