Your GSS Librarian
What is Interlibrary loan (ILL?)
- A free service for requesting materials that are not available at Vanderbilt.
- Facilitates access to books, journal articles, and other items that a library would typically loan like theses and DVDs.
How long does it take?
- Journal articles: Requests are usually filled in 48 hours, but budget 3 business days to be safe.
- Books: Requests can take anywhere from 1-2 weeks. Rare or hard to find items may take longer.
Who can make an ILL request?
- Vanderbilt faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
How do I submit a request?
- Login to your ILL account with your VUnet ID and password and select the appropriate request form from the New Requests menu.
- Or, initiate your request from the library catalog using the link available in the "How to get it" section of the item record.
- Please provide as much detailed information as possible about the item you are requesting.
- If available, please provide the following:
- An ISBN number for book requests
- A DOI number for journal article requests.
- If available, please provide the following:
Who do I contact if I have a problem or question about my request?
- ILL is a service provided by the Resource Sharing Services department at the Vanderbilt Libraries
- Contact Resource Sharing Services
What is scan and deliver?
- A free service for requesting book chapter and article scans from print books and journals available at Vanderbilt.
- You can also request scans for content available on microfilm.
- Sometimes also called document delivery.
How long does it take?
- All requests are usually fulfilled within 3 business days.
How do I submit a request?
- Start your request by searching for your item in the Library Catalog.
- Don't forget to sign into your Library Account, just look for yellow bar for the sign in link.
- Don't forget to sign into your Library Account, just look for yellow bar for the sign in link.
- After logging in, you should see a Request chapter/article scan link in the Location Items section of the record
- The Request chapter/article scan link will prompt you to login to your resource sharing account using your VUnet ID.
- The request form will auto-populate with basic information about the source material. Please supplement additional details
- Article/ chapter title.
- Page numbers.
- Year and volume and issue numbers for journal articles.
- Please include as much detail as possible to help us locate the correct sections needing to be scanned.
Is there a page limit for scans?
- Individual requests should be 100 pages or less.
- Please note that we are unable to scan entire books due to our page limit as well as copyright restrictions.
Who do I contact if I have a problem or question about my request?
- Scan and deliver is a service provided by the Resource Sharing Services department at the Vanderbilt Libraries
- Contact Resource Sharing Services
Recommended Starting Resources
Compiled list of recommended library materials, including books, articles, newspapers, films, and more! These resources will be great for starting your search for quality information related to your chosen topic.
When browsing these resources, you can use your search string to see if a source has any relevant materials.
If none of these resources work for your topic, you can go to the Troubleshooting page to help adjust your search, or go to library.vanderbilt.edu to search across the entire university library collections.
-
Library Catalog
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Icon "Find book" courtesy of Gregor Cresnar from the Noun Project.
-
Feminist Theory
by
Call Number: HQ1426 .H675 2015ISBN: 9781315743172Publication Date: 2014-10-03When Feminist Theory: From Margin to Center was first published in 1984, it was welcomed and praised by feminist thinkers who wanted a new vision. Even so, individual readers frequently found the theory "unsettling" or "provocative." Today, the blueprint for feminist movement presented in the book remains as provocative and relevant as ever. Written in hooks's characteristic direct style, Feminist Theory embodies the hope that feminists can find a common language to spread the word and create a mass, global feminist movement. -
Feminism Without Borders
by
Call Number: HQ1870.9 .M64 2003ISBN: 0822384647Publication Date: 2003-02-28Essays by a pioneering theorist of feminism, multiculturalism, and antiracism. -
Black Queer Studies
by
Call Number: E184.7 .B535 2005ISBN: 1283022109Publication Date: 2014-05-10While over the past decade a number of scholars have done significant work on questions of black lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered identities, this volume is the first to collect this groundbreaking work and make black queer studies visible as a developing field of study in the United States. The contributors consider representations of the black queer body, black queer literature, the pedagogical implications of black queer studies, and the ways that gender and sexuality have been glossed over in black studies and race and class marginalized in queer studies. Whether exploring the closet as a racially loaded metaphor, arguing for the inclusion of diaspora studies in black queer studies, considering how the black lesbian voice that was so expressive in the 1970s and 1980s is all but inaudible today, or investigating how the social sciences have solidified racial and sexual exclusionary practices, these insightful essays signal an important and necessary expansion of queer studies. -
Who's Afraid of Gender?
by
Call Number: HQ1075 .B894 2024ISBN: 9780374608224Publication Date: 2024-03-19From a global icon, a bold, essential account of how a fear of gender is fueling reactionary politics around the world. Judith Butler, the groundbreaking thinker whose iconic book Gender Trouble redefined how we think about gender and sexuality, confronts the attacks on "gender" that have become central to right-wing movements today. The aim of Who's Afraid of Gender? is not to offer a new theory of gender but to examine how "gender" has become a phantasm for emerging authoritarian regimes, fascist formations, and trans-exclusionary feminists. In their vital, courageous new book, Butler illuminates the concrete ways that this phantasm of "gender" collects and displaces anxieties and fears of destruction. Imagining new possibilities for both freedom and solidarity, Butler offers us a hopeful work of social and political analysis that is both timely and timeless--a book whose verve and rigor only they could deliver. -
The Cambridge World History of Sexualities: Volume 2, Systems of Thought and Belief
by
ISBN: 1108842097Publication Date: 2024-05-16Volume II focuses on systems of thought and belief in the history of world sexualities, ranging from early humans to contemporary approaches. Comprising eighteen chapters, this volume opens with a chapter on the evolutionary legacy and then delves into the sexualities of ancient Egypt, the Near East, Greece, and Rome, continuing with pre-modern South Asia, China, and Japan, Africa, the Americas, and Oceania. Chapters include an examination of sexuality in the religious traditions of Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, and also look at more recent approaches, including scientific sex, sexuality in socialism and Marxism, and the intersections between sexuality, feminism, and post-colonialism. -
Black Feminist Thought, Thirtieth Anniversary Edition
by
Call Number: HQ1163 .H55 2022ISBN: 9781032157832Publication Date: 2021-12-16For this 30th year anniversary edition, Patricia Hill Collins examines how the ideas in this classic text speak to contemporary social issues and identifies the directions needed for the future of Black feminist thought. -
The Second Sex
by
Call Number: HQ1208 .B352 1989ISBN: 0679724516Publication Date: 1989-12-17Newly translated and unabridged in English for the first time, Simone de Beauvoir's masterwork is a powerful analysis of the Western notion of "woman," and a groundbreaking exploration of inequality and otherness. This long-awaited new edition reinstates significant portions of the original French text that were cut in the first English translation. Vital and groundbreaking, Beauvoir's pioneering and impressive text remains as pertinent today as it was sixty years ago, and will continue to provoke and inspire generations of men and women to come. -
Cartographies of Diaspora
by
Call Number: DA125 .A84 B73 1996ISBN: 1134808674Publication Date: 2005-08-18By addressing questions of culture, identity and politics, Cartographies of Diaspora throws new light on discussions about `difference' and `diversity', informed by feminism and post-structuralism. It examines these themes by exploring the intersections of `race', gender, class, sexuality, ethnicity, generation and nationalism in different discourses, practices and political contexts. The first three chapters map the emergence of `Asian' as a racialized category in post-war British popular and political discourse and state practices. It documents Asian cultural and political responses paying particular attention to the role of gender and generation. The remaining six chapters analyse the debate on `difference', `diversity' and `diaspora' across different sites, but mainly within feminism, anti-racism, and post-structuralism.
Gender & Sexuality Studies
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Large Cross-disciplinary Collections
-
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
• Criminal Justice Database
• Education Database
• ERIC
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
• PAIS Index
• Political Science Database
• PTSDpubs
• Social Science Database
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Sociology Database
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
For Vanderbilt-specific materials, you can use the Vanderbilt Special Collections and University Archive. It will contain information about Vanderbilt institutional history, LGBTQ+ collections (many specifically oriented toward middle-TN LGBTQ+ history), rare books, and more.
-
Vanderbilt Special Collections & University ArchivesSCUA contains paper-based, analog, and digital collections of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, artifacts, audio-visual, Vanderbilt institutional archives, and any other information resources or data sets deemed under the aegis of special collections.
-
Digital Collections - Vanderbilt Special Collections & University ArchivesDigital collections in SCUA that are virtually available through JSTOR.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender is one of the most comprehensive archives in existence for primary source materials related to LGBTQ+ history. Highly recommend starting here.
-
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new windowMainstream and alternative gay and lesbian newspapers, newsletters, and periodicals from several countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain, etc.
-
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements.
-
Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new windowCorrespondence, research papers, and records from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities, and sexual behaviors.
-
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials from men’s and women’s organizations, advice literature, and etiquette books documenting women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, government and legislation, employment, education, the body, the family, and changing societal expectations about gender roles.
-
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowDiaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals. History of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
-
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
-
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Alternative press journals, magazines, and newspapers covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, gays, lesbians, etc.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowThe world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. All individual network evening news broadcasts since 1968 and special news-related programming since 1989.
-
IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
-
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
-
Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowUS and global polling data, new and historical, at the city, state, and national level. Microdata is available upon request. Please visit this resource guide to learn more about available data and to request access.
