ZoteroBib: Free Bibliography Generator
Need help with citations and bibliography, but you're not ready to commit to using a citation manager?
Try ZoteroBib!
Citation Management Tools
Learn about EndNote, Mendeley & Zotero!
Citing What You Find
 |
When you "cite" a source you are showing, within the body of your text, that you took the words or ideas from another place. |
|
You also are providing a way for the reader (your professor) to locate the sources you relied on in your research. |
|
Failure to acknowledge these sources can be considered plagiarism. |
|
Remember that for whatever style you chose (in consultation with your professor), pay attention to the details and be consistent. Incorrect citations are just as bad as no citations at all! |
The style guides highlighted below are the most commonly used style guides you may encounter in academic writing.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
The venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar--an indispensable reference informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Now in its 18th edition! More than 1.75 million copies sold! Much has happened in the years since the publication of the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. The world has transformed, and the Manual has risen to meet the moment. The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. The Manual's traditional focus on nonfiction has been expanded to include fiction and other creative genres in coverage of topics such as punctuation and dialogue, and the needs of self-published authors receive wider attention. The citation chapters have been thoroughly reorganized for the benefit of new and experienced users alike, and the key concepts for editing mathematics have been integrated into the chapters where they will be most useful to generalists. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout. And naturally, there are some well-considered updates to familiar rules, including changes intended to align the Manual's recommendations more closely with real-world usage. As with every new edition, devotees of the Manual will find much to discover and ponder.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024-09-19
ACS style guide, 3rd ed.Call Number: Online and in print: QD8.5 .A25 2006 Science & Engineering LibraryISBN: 0841239991Publication Date: 2006ACS style is used for chemistry and other sciences.
ASA Style Guide, 4th ed.Call Number: HM569 .A54 2010 Central LibraryISBN: 0912764317Publication Date: 2010The ASA style guide is used in some sociology courses. Quick Tips for ASA Style
MLA Handbook, 9th edition
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ? New guidance on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, and abbreviations ? A new chapter on principles of inclusive language ? Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects ? Revised, easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format ? A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ? Guidance on finding publication information in a variety of sources ? Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ? Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ? Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ? Annotated bibliography examples ? Numbered sections keyed to a subject index for quick navigation ? Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021 Central LibraryISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22
Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationCall Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010 Central LibraryISBN: 9781433805592Publication Date: 2009-07-15APA style commonly used in the social sciences.
Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers, 6th Ed.Call Number: T11 .S386 1994 Science LibraryISBN: 0521471540Publication Date: 1994CBE/CSE style is used for the sciences. More Information
|
Regardless of your intent, each of the following constitutes plagiarism: |
Direct Plagiarism -- including a verbatim quotation without a proper citation
Paraphrasing without a citation...passing off the ideas of others as your own
The inclusion of graphics, tables, charts or web pages without proper acknowledgement
Double dipping -- turning in the same paper for more than one class
See the "Citing Your Sources" Tab for more information about how to credit your sources.
|
Some tips to help you avoid accidental plagiarism include: |
Start your research early -- procrastination can lead to last minute stress & sloppy work
Keep notes or a bibliography of the sources you consult as you go -- it is easier than reconstructing it at the end.
Visit the Writing Studio for help on incorporating your evidence & sources into your paper.
