Your Librarian
Jason Schultz
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 800FL Central Library
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
(615) 875-8311
Website
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- BrillOnline Reference Works This link opens in a new window
The collection contains: New Pauly Online, Jacoby Online, Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World, Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics, Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics, Foreign Law Guide, Encyclopaedia Islamica, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, Qurʾānic Studies Online, Encyclopaedia of Islam.
- Very Short Introductions (Oxford)Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
UNESCO General History of AfricaCall Number: Central Library Stacks DT20 .G463
Historical Dictionary of NigeriaCall Number: Central Ref DT 515Historical Dictionaries of Africa series includes other print and ebooks covering African countries.
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Image Courtesy of CNN Money.
History of African Cities South of the SaharaCall Number: Central Library Stacks; HT148 .S8 C6713 2005Print only
Golden Rhinoceros: History of the African Middle AgesCall Number: Central Library Stacks; DT25 .F3813 2018Unlimited User ebook and print available
Ibn Battuta in Black AfricaCall Number: Central Library Stacks; DT365.2 .I262513 1994Unlimited User Ebook (ON ORDER) and print available
Swahili Port Cities: The Architecture of ElsewhereUnlimited User Ebook Available
Beyond TimbuktuCall Number: Central Library Stacks; DT474.5 .K36 2016Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
The Fante and the Transatlantic Slave TradeCall Number: Central Library Stacks; HT1394 .G48 S48 2011Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
African Women in the Atlantic World: property, vulnerability & mobility, 1660-1880Call Number: Central Library Stacks; HQ1787 .A3745 2019Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
The Wretched of the EarthCall Number: Central Library Stacks; DT33 .F313 1963Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowStreaming access to Battle of Algiers available on this platform.
Tropical Cowboys: Westerns, violence, and masculinity in KinshasaCall Number: Central Library Stacks; HV6439.C752 G66 2016Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Born A Crime: stories from a South African childhoodUnlimited User Ebook Available
In Township Tonight!: South Africa's black city music and theatreCall Number: Wilson Music Library Book Stacks; ML350 .C6 2008Two print copies available
Library Perks
- Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
