Skip to Main Content
  2. Research Guides

Vanderbilt Television News Archive

This guide is intended for Vanderbilt University students. VU students, staff, and faculty authenticated on VUnet can stream the entire collection.

Overview

The core of the collection consists of daily national evening news programs.

The archive began by recording the evening news broadcast by the "Big Three" television channels: ABC, NBC, and CBS.

Overtime, the archive began to preserve television news from other channels as operational capacity allowed. 

  • CNN was added to the collection in 1989, starting with selected content. By 1994, the archive began preserving the evening news daily.
  • Fox News Channel (FNC) was added to the collection in 2004.
  • MSNBC was added to the collection starting on May 5, 2024.

Evening News Programs

Show Title
Network
Starting
Ending
ABC World News Tonight ABC August 5, 1968 Present
ABC Nightline* ABC November 8, 1979 December 15, 2015
CBS Evening News CBS August 5, 1968 Present
NBC Nightly News NBC August 5, 1968 Present
CNN Prime News, Worldview and World Today (various anchors) CNN 1994 November 1, 2001
Wolf Blitzer Report CNN February 1, 2001 December 31, 2001
Anderson Cooper 360 CNN November 7, 2001 Present
NewsNight with Aaron Brown CNN November 5, 2001 November 4, 2005
Newsroom with Ana Cabrera (weekends) CNN April 27, 2013 Present
Fox Report with Shephard Smith (weekdays) FNC March 1, 2004 October 10, 2013
Fox Report (weekends, various anchors) FNC March 6, 2004 June 10, 2017
Special Report with Bret Baier FNC October 13, 2013 Present
Fox Report with John Scott (weekends) FNC June 16, 2017 Present
The Beat with Ari Melber  MSNBC May 6, 2024 Present
Ayman (Weekends)     MSNBC May 11, 2024     Present

*Originally known as The Iran Crisis–America Held Hostage until March 24, 1980 when the name Nightline was used for the first time. The archive stopped keeping Nightline on a nightly basis by January 2011.