Photographic Archives
Vanderbilt University Photographic Archives
The Vanderbilt University Photographic Archives contains photographic images of the Vanderbilt University community from the founding of the university in 1875 up to early 2000. The archives includes images of buildings, campus scenes, portraits, group photos, construction scenes and other topics.
Access to the Collection
For the Vanderbilt community, the collection is now accessible through the Vanderbilt University's Media Database. Register for an account on the home page, then use the "Contact Us" page to request access to the collection.
For non-Vanderbilt users, please contact Special Collections for assistance.
Original Campus
Original Campus
The original land purchased or donated for the site of Vanderbilt University between 1873-1875 amounted to approximately 75 acres. By the time the university opened in October 1875, there were 10 buildings on campus: Old Main (now Kirkland), Old Central, and eight faculty houses.
Including the Peabody College campus which merged with Vanderbilt in 1979, the Vanderbilt University campus now covers 330 acres and includes 252 buildings.
Background Resources
- Gone with the Ivy: A Biography of Vanderbilt University byCall Number: Central Library Reference: LD5588 .C66 1985ISBN: 087049452XPublication Date: 1985-06-01A comprehensive history of Vanderbilt University, from its beginnings in 1873 to 1982.
- History of Vanderbilt University byCall Number: Central Library Stacks: LD5588 .M5Publication Date: 1946An early history of Vanderbilt University from its beginning in 1873 up to the end of World War II.
- Brief History of Vanderbilt University byCall Number: LD5588 .M32 1973Publication Date: 1973A brief history of Vanderbilt University, covering 1873 to 1973.
The Vanderbilt Campus by Call Number: Central Library Reference: LD5588 .M33ISBN: 0826512100Publication Date: 1979-12-01A pictorial survey of the Vanderbilt campus from 1873 up to 1978. There are 25 brief essays on aspects of the campus, an alphabetical list and identification of persons for whom buildings are named, and a chronological list of buildings with their principal architects.
Location: Special Collections. Ask at reception desk for assistance.
Landon Cabell Garland Papers
Box 4
Correspondence from Bishop McTyeire to Garland, 1873.
John James Tigert IV Papers
Box 2
Correspondence from Cornelius Vanderbilt to Bishop Holland McTyeire
John James Tigert IV Papers
Box 5
Documents relating to the founding of the university
Board of Trust Minutes
Board of Trust Minutes include purchases of property/land, status of construction on campus, and financial reports as well as other information. The Annual Meeting (usually April or May) minutes usually includes a summary of activity for the year.
Record Group 901 Director of Special Projects
Box T-0177 File 1
Old Central
Notes on development of early campus by Lyle Lankford.
Campus Planning Facilities Library
Contact person: Chris Jones, chris.jones@vanderbilt.edu
Campus Planning maintains historical building records. Contact them for information on access to historical building information.
