Finding Journal Articles
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, etc.
Textbooks
- Knovel (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases) This link opens in a new windowReference books and databases from sci-tech publishers.**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link:
http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel. - AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowReference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering ebooks and videos integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
Finding Biomolecular Information
- Entrez Global QueryEntrez's new Global Query System allows a user to run a search against all Entrez databases simultaneously, while still allowing more experienced users to search individual databases directly.
- BLASTBLAST is a tool for comparing an amino acid or nucleotide sequence to an entire sequence library, identifying regions of high sequence similarity.
- GeneGene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.
- NucleotideThe Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.
- ProteinThe Protein database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB. Protein sequences are the fundamental determinants of biological structure and function.
- PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
AI Tools
- SciteScite is a Smart Citation index. It uses machine learning to help students and scholars discover and understand research articles. Smart Citations contextualize articles in the wider scientific literature and indicate whether each article provides supporting or contrasting evidence.
Librarian
Josh Borycz
Contact:
Office: SC 3218
Virtual Office Hours:
Monday, 1:00-2:00pm
Click ribbon for Zoom link
Website
Virtual Office Hours:
Monday, 1:00-2:00pm
Click ribbon for Zoom link
