Primary Sources
- Rotunda: The University of Virginia Press Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources and collections in American history and culture. Includes access to:
• Adams Papers
• Diaries of Gouverneur Morris
• Documentary History of the First Federal Congress
• Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution
• Dolley Madison
• Papers of Alexander Hamilton
• Papers of Andrew Jackson
• Papers of Andrew Johnson
• Papers of Benjamin Rush
• Papers of Booker T. Washington
• Papers of Daniel Webster
• Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry Digital Edition
• Papers of George Washington
• Papers of James K. Polk
• Papers of James Madison
• Papers of James Monroe
• Papers of John Marshall
• Papers of the Revolutionary Era Pinckney Statesmen
• Papers of Thomas Jefferson
• Papers of Ulysses S. Grant
• Papers of Woodrow Wilson
• People of the Founding Era
• Selected Papers of John Jay - Presidential Recordings Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Recordings and annotated transcripts of telephone conversations of Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon. Transcripts are searchable and browseable by administration, series, speaker, date, place, and duration.
- Presidential Recordings Program This link opens in a new windowAmerican presidential recordings in the White House between 1940 and 1973, presidential speeches, and presidential oral histories.
Public Papers of Presidents of the United StatesAvailable Electronically via HeinOnline (1931-2016).
- Nixon Years This link opens in a new window
Complete UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) 7 and 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), 1945-80 (US Department of State) This link opens in a new windowOfficial documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research database. Extensive coverage of law reviews and historical access to resources such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and US Supreme Court decisions. Legislative history and select foreign and international materials. Contains specialized libraries: intellectual property, taxation and economic reform, etc.
- American Rhetoric: Online Speech BankdImportant speeches of U.S. Presidents and other political and social figures worldwide.
- History Vault This link opens in a new window
Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials.
• American Indians and the American West
• American Politics and Society
• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
• International Relations and Military Conflicts
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
• Women's Studies
• Workers and Labor Unions
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowNewspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowFBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government, includes translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world. Current coverage includes 1941-1996.
- Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
Indian claims process in the U.S., including docket history. Histories of Nation/Tribe and State/Territory.
- Proquest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries, established in this repository to archive and share their digital content.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (HSUS) This link opens in a new windowHistorical statistics on social, political, and economic aspects of the United States. Census and other statistical data. Create custom tables and merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed. Essays by experts place topics such as migration, slavery, health, crime, Native Americans, and the Confederate States of America in historical context.
- International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new windowGlobal statistical data on business, economics, environmental studies, geography, history, politics, sociology, and statistical studies.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowFederal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical census data and demographic information: US Census, American Community Survey, religious membership, carbon emissions data, etc. Customizable maps, charts, and reports.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowExtensive selection of statistics for the United States, with selected data for regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, cities, and foreign countries from reports and records of government and private agencies.
- iPOLL (Roper Center) This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion poll data: poll questions and answers, datasets, and survey questionnaires from academic, commercial, and media polls on opinions and behaviors from major survey research organizations in the United State, including Gallup, Pew, Annenburg Public Policy Center, and news organizations, such as CNN, CBS, ABC, NBC, the New York Times.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Poll questions and responses from national, state, local and special public opinion polls and surveys conducted by polling organizations in the United States and other countries.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to documentary and social issue films from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, Collective Eye, and Icarus Films.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowOral history interviews with both well-known and unsung African American artists, business leaders, scientists, athletes, and intellectuals.
- Socialism on Film This link opens in a new windowThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
