Management Library FAQs
Find answers to using the Library and Business Research.
Healthcare providers, payers, insurers and other organizations
- American Hospital Directory This link opens in a new window
Lists of hospitals according to ownership, services provided, size, volumes, market area, etc. Search results and hospital reports can be viewed online and downloaded in Excel or PDF formats. Click on login once in the database to access full functionality. Be sure to click logout and close browser when done using resource. Use of this content for any purposes other than education is strictly prohibited.
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowInformation on grantmakers and grants. Database of foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and recently-filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
- Hoovers This link opens in a new windowDetails on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on a wide range of companies including startups. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. Licensed for academic & curricular uses only. All accounts are reset in May of each year to ensure compliance.
Payers and Insurers
Medicare
- Medicare Coverage DatabaseUse this resource if you want to know whether a procedure or service is covered. Follow this link to search the database by keyword, procedure, and/or date.
- Medicare Physician Fee Schedule LookupEnter one or more HCPCS procedure codes plus other parameters and find out what Medicare reimburses for physician services, facility/technical component, and global payments for non-hospital settings.
- Medicare Drug Coverage and PricingDownload drug plan by state and insurance company; drug pricing guidelines and 'average sales price'; Find National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) survey, updated weekly.
Medicaid
- Federal site summary reportsProvides summaries by state of eligible populations, enrollees & expenditures (see "State Profiles").
- Tennessee - TennCare StatisticsIncludes enrollment and Quality assurance data.
Commercial Insurance
- AMA's CPT code look upCurrent Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes are an AMA-developed and maintained coding system used for billing for medical procedures (surgeries, office visits, and virtually any procedure a physician or Nurse Practitioner can perform). Vast majority of commercial insurers still rely on CPT (vs. HCPCS for Medicare).
- Population Health Survey ListPDF file summarizes different population and health statistics from a wide variety of sources for the United States. Use these statistics with utilization estimates to create usage rates and other useful indicators.
- Health Facilities Licensing Agencies - TNState agencies are responsible for health facilities licensure, which is a state-by-state function. Often, these agencies include counts of providers, numbers of beds for inpatient facilities, patients served, and other information.
Walker Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
