Conquering Call Numbers!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Finding Books, Articles & More...
Vanderbilt University Library Search
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Everything |
|
|
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
Literature Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowBibliographical listing of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations about English language, literature, and culture published anywhere in the world. Literature: poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory, and studies of individual writers. English culture: custom, belief, narrative, song, dance, and material culture.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, selected full-text works (poetry, poems, and drama), author pages, reviews, and reference sources including biographies, bibliographies, and encyclopedias.
- Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBiographical essays; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, scholarly journals, and interviews with featured authors.
Includes ten publications: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, and Children's Literature Review.
History & History and Philosophy of Science Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials covering topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, and the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowAbstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Journal articles, books, book chapters, such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
General Databases
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowEnglish news media from the 17th and 18th centuries: newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
- 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection, sourced from the Bodleian Library, complements the titles and issues found in the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers database.
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowNational and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
