Conquering Call Numbers!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Books & Articles
Vanderbilt University Library Search
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Everything |
|
|
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
Theatre Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new windowPublished criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after January 1, 2000. Emphasis is on criticism of works by established authors who frequently appear on syllabuses of high school and college literature courses. Biographical essays, critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals, and interviews with featured authors.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new windowLiterary criticism, selected full-text works (poetry, poems, and drama), author pages, reviews, and reference sources including biographies, bibliographies, and encyclopedias.
Climate and Environmental Studies Databases
- E&E News This link opens in a new windowEssential news for energy & environment professionals. Includes Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire and E&E News PM.
- Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO host) This link opens in a new windowInformation covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
General Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowDigital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
- Superhero Clubhouse: Eco-Theater ManifestoA holistic approach to theater-making that centers climate and environmental justice in content, process, and production.
- Centre for Sustainable Practice in the ArtsThe Centre for the Sustainable Practice in the Arts (CSPA) provides research, training, and consultancy services related to sustainable development, in particular ecological responsibility, in the arts and culture sector. This includes environmental foot printing and support for theatres, museums, galleries, and other cultural organizations and arts presenters/producers.
- Broadway Green AllianceThe Broadway Green Alliance (BGA) is an industry-wide initiative that educates, motivates, and inspires the entire theatre community and its patrons to implement environmentally friendlier practices on Broadway and beyond. See the resources section for toolkits, guides and case studies.
- Green Production GuideThe Green Production Guide (GPG) is the premier industry online toolkit designed to reduce the film, television, and streaming industry’s carbon footprint and environmental impact. The GPG was established in 2010 in a joint effort between the Producers Guild of America Foundation’s PGA Green committee and a major studios partner group, now known as the Sustainable Production Alliance (SPA).
- Theatre Green BookWe’re living in a climate crisis. The Green Book is an initiative by the whole of theatre – working with sustainability experts Buro Happold – to work more sustainably. In three volumes it sets standards for making productions sustainably, for making theatre buildings sustainable, and for improving operations like catering and front of house.
- HowlRound Theatre Commons: Climate EmergencyClimate change poses an existential threat to humanity and theatremakers need to be part of addressing it. Here, you’ll find content about artistic work that engages with the climate crisis, as well as learnings about how to make theatre practices more eco-friendly. Chantal Bilodeau’s long-running Theatre in the Age of Climate Change series is a must-read, and don’t miss Groundwater Arts’s video series on the Green New Theater.
