Annual Review of Anthropology
- Annual Review of AnthropologyThe Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Use Anthropology Plus to search across all articles published in the Annual Review of Anthropology
Finding Articles
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes materials published in English and European languages from the late 19th century to the present. Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowArchive of all journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association.
- Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new windowBibliography of the anthropology of Mesoamerica, including Mexico and parts of Central America: archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Includes bibliographic citations to books, articles, essays, festschrifts, dissertations, obituaries, films, newspapers, etc. Book reviews are omitted.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windowBooks and dissertations of archaeological traditions from around the world. Each file on an archaeological tradition consists of a general summary and full-text sources including books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowBooks, articles, and dissertations covering all aspects of cultural and social life: religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, economic and political behavior. Cultures range from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycARTICLES is a full-text database for social and behavioral science journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials covering topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, and the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present.
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials (Alumni Access) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text. Alumni login using their VUNetID.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Bibliography covering all the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, as well as Muslims living elsewhere, and their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Journal articles, books, reviews, and papers in multi-author volumes.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
• Criminal Justice Database
• Education Database
• ERIC
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
• PAIS Index
• Political Science Database
• PTSDpubs
• Social Science Database
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Sociology Database
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
