Conquering Call Numbers!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Books, Articles and More!
The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowAbstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Journal articles, books, book chapters, such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
- PhilPapers This link opens in a new windowIndex of philosophy books and articles maintained by the community of philosophers. It includes pre-prints, classification by topic, reading lists, and discussion forums.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OV or OVIC) This link opens in a new window
Pro and con articles on important social, political, and economic issues. Reference articles that provide context, magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and links.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Vanderbilt University Library Search
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Everything |
|
|
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowArticles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new windowScholarly editions of major philosophers, from Aristotle to Santayana; and the collected letters of major English writers: Austen, Burney, Coleridge, Wordsworth, and selected Romantics. Also includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary and the Oxford Duden German Dictionary.
- Death Penalty Information CenterThe Death Penalty Information Center is a national non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. Founded in 1990, the Center promotes informed discussion of the death penalty by preparing in-depth reports, conducting briefings for journalists, and serving as a resource to those working on this issue. The Center releases an annual report on the death penalty, highlighting significant developments and featuring the latest statistics.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. BJS also provides financial and technical support to state, local, and tribal governments to improve both their statistical capabilities and the quality and utility of their criminal history records.
- Death With DignityDeath with Dignity is a national leader in end-of-life advocacy and policy reform. Our mission focuses on improving how people with terminal illness die.
- National Human Genome Research InsituteThe National Human Genome Research Institute is the driving force for advancing genomics research at the National Institutes of Health, the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
- Human Genome Editing InitiativeThe Human Genome Editing Initiative is designed to provide researchers, clinicians, policymakers, and societies around the world with a comprehensive understanding of human genome editing to help inform decision-making about this research and its application.
