It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available.
Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
User Limit: 3. Vendor Tutorials: http://www.veryshortintroductions.com/fileasset/VSI/files/VSI_tour_Sept13.pdf
Describes revolutionary events that have affected and often changed the course of history. Includes descriptions of specific revolutions, important figures, and major revolutionary themes such as communism and socialism, ideology, and nationalism.
Covers the people, arts, literature, film, theater, politics, economics, religion, and social systems of Russia from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.
Covers the individuals, ideas, political parties and main events that were central to the transformation of Russia during the revolution. Includes a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography.
Central Library has a materials budget over Two million dollars.
Vanderbilt Library subscribes to over 700 databases.
These resources make up a majority of the Deep Web
Google, Bing and other familiar search engines capture less than 1% of information on the Web.
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
Index of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.