Finding Books, Articles & More! - PHIL 1111 - Ethics of Embodiment - Costa

Conquering Call Numbers!

I've got a call #, now what?

Click the link below for more information.

The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:

Philosopher's Index
Abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Journal articles, books, book chapters, such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
Coverage: 1940 to present.
PhilPapers
Index of philosophy books and articles maintained by the community of philosophers. It includes pre-prints, classification by topic, reading lists, and discussion forums.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Journals on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
JSTOR
Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
ProQuest
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

Vanderbilt University Library Catalog

Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:

Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles

Search Scope	What is included?	When should I use it?
Library Catalog	Broadest search scope Results will include books and ebooks, articles, and media like DVDs	A great option when you are just beginning your research process. Use Library Catalog when you want to survey the research landscape for your topic
VU Collections	Focuses on VU owned items, physical and digital Results will include books and ebooks, and media like DVDs Digital collections like the TV News Archive will also be included in your results	You have defined your information needs Use VU Collections when you are ready to create a tailored search for your topic
Articles	Content from selected VU databases Popular and scholarly articles	Use Articles to find popular and scholarly articles on your topic. The Articles scope does not search across all databases accessible to the Vanderbilt community. Not finding the articles you need or want more database options? Consult the Database A-Z

For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?

Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.

Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches.

Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.

Screen shot of catalog record for title, Truly Human Enhancement

Wiley Online Library
Journals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Cambridge Companions Online
Collection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Articles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
Past Masters
Scholarly editions of major philosophers, from Aristotle to Santayana; and the collected letters of major English writers: Austen, Burney, Coleridge, Wordsworth, and selected Romantics. Also includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary and the Oxford Duden German Dictionary.