Technical Literature - CHEM 6900 - Professional Development - Research Guides at Vanderbilt University

Handbooks & Manuals

Knovel (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases) This link opens in a new window
Reference books and databases from sci-tech publishers.**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link:
http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel.
Access Note: Users must login from off campus using a Knovel account- see instructions above.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering ebooks and videos integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combined Compendex, Ei Backfile, GeoRef, Inspec and Inspec Archive databases on scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 to present.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Chemical reactions, chemical substances and measured substance property data from chemistry journals and organic chemistry patent publications. Synthesis planner and the ability to generate a structure query from a name. Reaxys Xcelerate Direct enables fast insights into the data as well as instantaneous synthesis planning.
Vendor Tutorials: http://supportcontent.elsevier.com/RightNow%20Next%20Gen/Reaxys/LibrarianToolkit0917/Reaxys%20Quick%20Start%20Guide%202017%20WEB.pdf

PubChem
PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated access to authoritative references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. New Scifinder platform with PatentPak and MethodsNow.
Access Note: Users of legacy Scifinder can use their existing username/password to access Scifinder-N. To register, visit: https://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/restricted/scifinder.php.

Scite
Scite is a Smart Citation index. It uses machine learning to help students and scholars discover and understand research articles. Smart Citations contextualize articles in the wider scientific literature and indicate whether each article provides supporting or contrasting evidence.

Email Me

Contact:

Office: SC 3218
Virtual Office Hours:
Monday, 1:00-2:00pm
Click ribbon for Zoom link