Books
What's This Number?
Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog? or where to find the book in the library?
Library Floor Plans
Books, Articles, ILL, and Hathi Trust Digital Library
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
Step 1: Start your search process with a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches.
Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.
The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Abstracts of material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. Includes illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing, performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new windowUse this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowResource for scholarly literature on western art, and successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
What Do I Need for an Interlibrary Loan Request?
All you need is your VUnet ID and password, and the citation information for the resource you are requesting. Just click on the link below and login to the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Need help? Ask a reference librarian!
Interlibrary Loan FAQs
What is Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan or ILL (sometimes also called interloan, document delivery, or document supply etc.) is a service whereby a user of one library can borrow books or receive photocopies of documents that are owned by another library. The user makes a request with their local library (in this case Vanderbilt's Heard Library), which, acting as an intermediary, identifies owners of the desired item, places the request, receives the item, makes it available to the user, and arranges for its return.
Do I need to use ILL?
ILL is an optional service. Most undergraduates are able to complete their research assignments using the resources available at the Vanderbilt Libraries. Occasionally the resources you need for a research assignment will not be available. That's when ILL can come to the rescue.
Who can make an ILL request?
Vanderbilt faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
What can I request?
We can usually borrow from other libraries the kinds of materials that would circulate here: books and reprints, scores, proceedings, etc.. Microforms, newspaper back files, dissertations, and government documents often are available, but may need special handling. Periodical volumes, reference books, rare or fragile items, videotapes, and very old or very new imprints cannot normally be borrowed. We can request copies of journal articles and many other items that cannot be borrowed.
How long does it take?
Locating and receiving books and articles usually takes a few weeks or less, but sometimes takes several months or longer. Service may be slower during busy times, and we are limited in the number of items we can process at once for a single patron. You should try to determine your needs early, and time your requests to allow for delays and to avoid receiving more than you can use in the time allowed for loans. A good rule of thumb: Budget at least two weeks for receiving an ILL request.
What does it cost?
Absolutely Free!
Want to Find Books in Other Libraries?
Try WorldCat!
It contains more than 125 million records describing resources owned by U.S. libraries and libraries around the world.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
Try a SUBJECT begins with search using one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:
| Art Political Aspects | Art and Censorship | |
| Art and State | Gender Identity in Art | |
| Arts and Society | Weems, Carrie Mae | |
| Art Modern 21th Century | Politics in Art | |
| Arts and Society United States History 20th Century |
Public Art |
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust has created the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), which will allow Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff online reading access to materials that Vanderbilt Libraries own in print during this period of remote teaching, learning, and research. Access is available until further notice.
**The print editions of books made available through HathiTrust ETAS will not be available for check out for the duration of our participation in the service.
Connect to books in HathiTrust directly from the Library Catalog:
Users need to click on the yellow Log in button and choose Vanderbilt University as their institution and then login with their VUnet ID and password to gain access.
Click the "Temporary access" link in the record to access the ebook and don't forget to click the "Check Out" button!
Some caveats:
- Not all print items available in our catalog are available in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust is providing reading access to Temporary Access titles
- The option to download the work in full is not available
- You will be able to “check out” materials for a limited time (60 minutes)
- There is an automatic renewal option available
- Access to items is 1-1; 1 copy on the member library shelf, 1 individual access to the digital copy; 2 copies, 2 concurrent users of the digital item.
- Print books made available in HathiTrust will not be allowed to circulate.
- Please contact the library for assistance.
