Welcome to the World of Library Research
Your classes have moved online, and the Library is here to help!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Connect to free materials from publishers with our COVID-19 research guide
- Work directly with a librarian!
The Greek World from Alexander the Great to the Roman World
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia.
Below is a list of reference resources for Classical Studies.
-
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
-
New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic coverage of the second millennium BCE to early medieval Europe; with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Also includes the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of ancient heritage, and the history of classical scholarship.
-
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
-
-
-
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th ed.
by
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780199545568Publication Date: 2012-05-04 -
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
by
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0195300823
