Research Guides: Online Video and Audio Content from the VU Libraries: Streaming Video

Performing Arts:

BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to 37 BBC Shakespeare plays.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Virtual concert venue: live streams, concert archive, movies, and interviews.
To create an account, click Login and Register Now. Confirmation email will be received.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Classical music channel offering broadcasts of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met's series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts, and radio broadcasts. Subtitles and synopsis.
Coverage: 1936-1990s.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Gull text of plays, their history of performance, production background, reference materials and ephemera. Plays are predominately 20th century and Shakespeare productions.

Interdisciplinary:

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Classic collection of videos, providing faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a through grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses.
Coverage: 1985-2010
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, supporting materials, video, and archives, in disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to documentary and social issue films from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, Collective Eye, and Icarus Films.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
Audio recordings, videos, field notebooks, and journals document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe.
Coverage: Mid-20th century to the early 21st century.
HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Oral history interviews with both well-known and unsung African American artists, business leaders, scientists, athletes, and intellectuals.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Instruction and reference materials on computer programming, technology, and business transformation. The platform includes books, videos, case studies, audio books, and structured learning paths. An O'Reilly user account will automatically be created for first time users. For details, please refer to the O'Reilly Privacy Policy.
Mobile app is available at https://www.oreilly.com/online-learning/apps.html.
Vendor Tutorial: https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Explores the dynamic period of social, political, and cultural change in the U.S. and U.K., covering such topics as music and television, the Vietnam war, student protests, the civil rights movement, and women's liberation. Includes the Social Protest Collection from UC Berkeley, a wide range of zines and alternative press publications, posters, and multimedia.
Coverage: 1950-1975.
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Visual History Archive (USC Shoah Foundation) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of crimes against humanity.

Online Video and Audio Content from the VU Libraries: Streaming Video

All Streaming Video Databases:

Performing Arts:

Interdisciplinary: