RLST 3142: Slave Thought and Culture in the American South (Wells-Oghoghomeh): Getting Started

Getting Started with Resources

Search our catalog!

 

Keyword vs. Subject Searching

Step 1:  Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.

Step 2:  Use these keywords for your initial searches.

Step 3:  Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.

Requesting materials from other libraries

  • Illiad For articles, books,videos, dissertations, etc.
  • WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 1 billion records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link.

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database

  • Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.

JSTOR

  • Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.

ProQuest

  • Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technolog

America History and Life

  • Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.

New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture

  • 24 volume encyclopedia that covers every aspect of a Southern life and thought, the impact of its history and policies, its music and literature, its manners and myths

Oxford Bibliographies

  • Guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia

Oxford Reference

  • Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series.

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving

  • References to scholarly works on worldwide slavery and slaving. All known print materials published since 1900 in scholarly formats, digital scholarly journals, recent unpublished presentations at academic conferences, professional historical sites, and major museum exhibitions and catalogs.

Guides for Writing

The following are resources we've developed in for workshops the Divinity Library has led in conjunction with the Divinity School Writing Tutor. These guides are designed to be a quick way to get started with your research, and please reach out to me if you have any questions either about the following, or about getting your research started.

Politics & Practice of Citation

Reading Efficiently & Effectively

Thesis Statements & Outlines

Also see

The Purpose of Research Questions

from Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research (Ohio State)

Interim Director, Divinity Library