It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Each student enrolled in MUSL2100 will be given upload only access to a Vanderbilt Box folder for uploading project materials. Please read and follow the instructions in the document below to ensure that everything is done correctly.
Detailed instructions for uploading materials to Box. Please follow the naming conventions listed!
The documents below must be filled out before the Wilson Music Library can ingest your project into the Global Music Archive. It is best to fill out the metadata document as you conduct your interviews. The release form must be signed by any artists that you record.
This database provides access to field recordings, interviews, field notebooks, and other materials from the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the University of Washington Libraries Ethnomusicology Archive. You can browse by geographical region, collection, or format. This is an excellent resource for learning about interviewing techniques and to see examples of field notes from respected ethnomusicologists.
Coverage: Mid-20th century to the early 21st century.
The Calypso Interviews Collection (part of the Global Music Archive) is an excellent resource for learning about interviewing techniques, transcription, and metadata.
As you begin work on your final documentary or podcast, you will need to do some background research on the musical culture that your group is focusing on. Use the databases below to locate books and articles on global music topics:
The Garland Encyclopedia is a good starting point for research on global music. Unlike traditional encyclopedias that are arranged alphabetically, the Garland is organized by continent. Each volume includes an overview of the music of the continent, issues and processes (e.g., rhythm, melody, transmission, etc.), and articles on individual countries, regions, or tribes. Audio examples are included and referenced in the text. The Garland is also available in print in the reference section, ML100 .G16 1998.
MPD provides access to music periodical abstracts on a variety of topics, including ethnomusicology and global music. Many of the articles are available in full-text directly from MPD; if an article is not available, click on the FindIt@VU button to see if you can access it from another library database.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.