It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music, Education, and Religion: Intersections and Entanglements explores the critical role that religion can play in formal and informal music education. As in broader educational studies, research in music education has tended to sidestep the religious dimensions of teaching and learning, often reflecting common assumptions of secularity in contemporary schooling in many parts of the world. This book considers the ways in which the forces of religion and belief construct and complicate the values and practices of music education--including teacher education, curriculum texts, and teaching repertoires. The contributors to this volume embrace a range of perspectives from a variety of disciplines, examining religious, agnostic, skeptical, and atheistic points of view. Music, Education, and Religion is a valuable resource for all music teachers and scholars in related fields, interrogating the sociocultural and epistemological underpinnings of music repertoires and global educational practices.
Preface / Mary Ross Hookey -- Elliott Eisner and music education : eight big ideas about the arts in education / Matthew D. Thibeault, Elliot Eisner -- Developmentally appropriate practice : historic roots and evolving paradigms / Martina L. Miranda -- Type, function, and musical features of preschool children's spontaneous songs / Peter Whiteman -- Preservice teachers' perceptions and perspectives on early childhood music education : a comparative analysis of the United States and Korea / Jinyoung Kim and Seung Yeon Lee -- An investigation of the 2 x 2 achievement goal framework in the context of instrumental music / Peter Miksza -- In-service music teachers' perceptions of professional development / William I. Bauer, Jere Forsythe, and Daryl Kinney -- Developing professional knowledge about music teaching and learning through collaborative conversations / Lisa M. Gruenhagen -- Notes for a moment in music education research / Sandra L. Stauffer.
On the basis of Dewey's principles, Paul G. Woodford explores the social foundation of current music education practices in the context of democratic values of freedom, creativity, and contribution to society. He then critiques the means by which this ideal is learned by teachers and taught to students. Woodford concludes with recommendations for acknowledging democratic and non-democratic values in music teaching, teacher training, and performance, and suggests steps toward a "liberal" music education. Counterpoints: Music and Education--Estelle R. Jorgensen, editor
With Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education, you can explore musics from around the world with your students in a meaningful way. Broadly based and practically oriented, the book will help you develop curriculum for an increasingly multicultural society. Ready-to-use lesson plans make it easy to bring many different but equally logical musical systems into your classroom. The authors_a variety of music educators and ethnomusicologists_provide plans and resources to broaden your students' perspectives on music as an important aspect of culture both within the United States and globally.
Explore the creative ways music educators across the country are approaching emerging practices in music teaching and learning. Outlined in twenty-five unique case studies, each program offers a new perspective on music teaching and learning, often falling outside the standard music education curriculum. Find innovative ideas and models of successful practice to incorporate into your teaching, whether in school, university, or community settings. Close the gap between music inside and outside the music classroom and spark student interest. The diversity of these real-world case studies will inspire questioning and curiosity, stimulate lively discussion and innovation, and provide much food for thought. Designed for music teachers, preservice music education students, and music education faculty, this project was supported by Society for Music Teacher Education's (SMTE) Areas of Strategic Planning and Action on Critical Examination of the Curriculum, which will receive a portion of the proceeds.
Estelle R. Jorgensen's latest work is an exploratory look into the ways we practice and represent music education through the metaphors and models that appear in everyday life. These metaphors and models serve as entry points into a deeper understanding of music education that moves beyond literal ways of thinking and doing and allows for a more creative embodiment of musical thought. Seeing the reader as a partner in the creation of meaning, Jorgensen intends for this book to be experienced by, rather than dictated to, the reader. Jorgensen's hope is that the intersections of art and philosophy, and metaphor and model can provide a richer and more imaginative view of music education.
Middle School General Music is a guidebook for music teachers trying to navigate the sometimes turbulent waters of teaching middle school general music. Written by an in-service teacher, this publication contains strategies and lessons that have been tested and refined in the 'real world' of a public school music classroom.
Issues of Identity in Music Education: Narratives and Practices focuses on the stories of individuals-cooperating teachers and student teachers, undergraduate composers, singers and non-singers, Hispanic and white students, and instrumental music educators. Individually and collectively, these studies tell stories about the ways that people, places, and spaces in music education interact to shape identity. Although using specific methodologies within both qualitative and quantitative traditions, collectively these studies create a kind of complementarity-the kind of inquiry symbiosis that Sandra Stauffer in Volume 2 avers we are ready to embrace in the profession. Continuing the practice of inviting essays from prominent educators, Volume 3 presents the thinking of Jean Clandinin on narrative inquiry. Her essay brings both added depth and clarity in understanding the key ideas, processes, relationships, and ethics involved in narrative research. Peter Whiteman's and Regina Murphy's concluding essays advance the conversation on the role of discussant within the context of the Annual Meeting of AERA. Whiteman and Murphy share insights from their own experiences as they describe the purposes and processes of this important role. Like the studies within this volume, these essays elucidate the various roles and identities we hold as researchers.
Critical of technologically determinist assumptions underpinning current educational policy, Victoria Armstrong argues that this growing technicism has grave implications for the music classroom where composition is often synonymous with the music technology suite. The use of computers and associated compositional software in music education is frequently decontextualized from cultural and social relationships, thereby ignoring the fact that new technologies are used and developed within existing social spaces that are always already delineated along gender lines. Armstrong suggests these gender-technology relations have a profound effect on the ways adolescents compose music as well as how gendered identities in the technologized music classroom are constructed. Drawing together perspectives from the sociology of science and technology studies (STS) and the sociology of music, Armstrong examines the gendered processes and practices that contribute to how students learn about technology, the repertoire of teacher and student talk, its effect on student confidence and the issue of male control of technological knowledge. Even though girls and female teachers have technological knowledge and skill, the continuing material and symbolic associations of technology with men and masculinity contribute to the perception of women as less able and less interested in all things technological. In light of the fact that music technology is now central to many music-making practices across all sectors of education from primary, secondary through to higher education, this book provides a timely critical analysis that powerfully demonstrates why the relationship between gender and music technology should remain an important empirical consideration.
In a delightfully self-conscious philosophical "mash-up," Randall Everett Allsup provides alternatives for the traditional master-apprentice teaching model that has characterized music education. By providing examples across the arts and humanities, Allsup promotes a vision of education that is open, changing, and adventurous at heart. He contends that the imperative of growth at the core of all teaching and learning relationships is made richer, though less certain, when it is fused with a student's self-initiated quest. In this way, the formal study of music turns from an education in teacher-directed craft and moves into much larger and more complicated fields of exploration. Through vivid stories and evocative prose, Randall Everett Allsup advocates for an open, quest-driven teaching model that has repercussions for music education and the humanities more generally.
Irma Collins's Dictionary of Music Education is more than just a lexicon. It is a journey through time and the story of the evolution of music education, including entries on notable individuals, crucial terms, important events, and key organizations--a broad survey of the field. Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe. Biographical entries profile musicians and music educators who were among the founders or first implementers of significant pedagogical tools and methods. Terms include standard concepts in the field of music education. Event and organization entries are those crucial to the advancement of music education regionally, nationally, and internationally. Dictionary of Music Education also includes a timeline, cross-references, and a significant bibliography. This work will interest anyone involved in the field of music education, from students and faculty to administrators and private instructors.
What's So Important About Music Education? presents a new philosophy of music education for the United States, rooted in history and current perspectives from ethnomusicology. J. Scott Goble explores the societal effects of the nation's foundations in democracy and capitalism, the constitutional separation of church and state, and the rise of recording, broadcast, and computer technologies. He shows how these and other factors have brought about changes in the ways music teachers and concerned others have conceptualized music and its importance in education. In demonstrating how many of the personal and societal benefits of musical engagement have come to be obscured in the nation's increasingly diverse public forum, Goble argues for the importance of musical engagement in human life and for the importance of music in education. An ideal text for courses in music education foundations, the book concludes with recommendations for teaching the musical practices of the nation's cultural communities in schools in terms of their respective cultural meanings.
Thinking about Thinking: Metacognition for Music Learning provides music educators with information, inspiration, and practical suggestions for teaching music. Written for music educators in multiple content areas and grade levels, the book sets forth guidelines for promoting the use of metacognitive skills among music students.
Qualitative research has become increasingly popular in music education over the last decade, yet there is no source that explains the terms, approaches and issues associated with this approach. In The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education, editor Colleen Conway and the contributing music educators provide that clarification, as well as models of qualitative studies within various music education disciplines. The handbook outlines the history of qualitative research in American music education and explores the contemporary use of qualitative approaches in examining issues related to music teaching and learning. It includes 32 chapters that address a range of topics, from ways of approaching qualitative research and ways of collecting and analyzing data, to the various music teaching and learning contexts that have been studied using qualitative approaches. The final section of the book tackles permission to conduct research, teaching qualitative research, publishing qualitative research, and provides direction for the future. An ambitious and much-needed volume, this handbook will stand as a key resource for drawing meaning from the experiences of students and teachers in music classrooms and communities both in America and in other countries.
The Music Periodicals Database provides indexing and abstracts for 425+ music periodicals and full text for around 140 music journals. This database includes citations to both scholarly and popular music periodicals, and covers topics such as music education, performance, music theory and composition, musical theatre, ethnomusicology, and popular music.
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) • Criminal Justice Database • Education Database • ERIC • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) • PAIS Index • Political Science Database • PTSDpubs • Social Science Database • Social Services Abstracts • Sociological Abstracts • Sociology Database • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.