It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Covers many key themes including development policy and practice, neo-liberalism and its aftermath, the role played by social movements in cities and rural areas, the politics of water, oil, and other environmental resources, indigenous and Afro-descendant rights, and the struggles for gender equality.
Publication Date: 2012
"...This book gives a unique, comprehensive, and up to date view of Latin America economic development over the two centuries since Independence. It considers Latin American economies within the wider context of the international economy, and covers economic growth, international trade, capital flows, and trends ininequality and human development...."
"...explores why the region suffers from such persistent inequality, identifies how it hampers development, and suggests ways to achieve greater equity in the distribution of wealth, incomes and opportunities....."
Available online: 2008 - current
This publication by the OECD provides an annual analysis of economic developments in Latin America. The OECD iLibrary also contains books, periodicals, and working papers on Latin American countries by the OECD.
Examines the political economy (development, gender and work, privatization, remittances, social inequality, and more), and geopolitics and governance (civil society, climate change, interventionism, military, and more).
Covers Latin America and the world economy, Latin America and economic growth, growth and the environment, economic history, primary commodities, import substitution, trade policy, exchange rate policy, financing current account deficits, macroeconomic policy, macroeconomic stability, and poverty & inequality.
Contains World Bank publications (books, reports, and other documents) in full text, as well as Policy Research Working Papers. *Selected titles from the 1980’s and 1990’s, and all publications since 2000.*
Contains country profiles, books, working papers, annual reports, world economic and financial surveys and other publications on countries and regions by the International Monetary Fund (e.g., poverty reduction reports).
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.