Librarian
Ramona Romero
She, her, hers
Contact:
Central Library
800FN
800FN
615-343-4236
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classics, Latin American Studies, Latinx Studies, Philosophy, Portuguese, Spanish
Library Resources-General References
Welcome to the Central Library
This guide will introduce you to some of the resources available to you at the Vanderbilt Libraries.
Please let us know if you need help at any point in your research process.
Use the contact information on the left to schedule an appointment or send a message.
Emperor Quinshihuang's Mausoleum Site Museum
Terracotta Army
Xian, China
General - Where to Start:
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
- Britannica OnlineBritannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one resource.
- The Book of Tea byA timeless classic that points to tea as Asia's unique power to influence the world.
By Location:
- Encyclopaedia of Nepal, Bhutan and TibetCall Number: Central Library DS485 .H6 K288 2007Encyclopaedia of Nepal, Bhutan and Tibet' is an effort to present an objective and concise account of social, economic and political life of the people of the region.
- Encyclopedia of IndiaA four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.
- Brill's Encyclopedia of China OnlinePublication Date: 2008-10-29Online version of the convenient thousand-page reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Arranged in alphabetical order, it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China. All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines. Originally published and warmly received in German (edited by the GIGA Institute of Asian Studies in Hamburg, published by WBG, Darmstadt, 2003), this English translation, including a statistical data update, will serve both English-language students and faculty in conveniently providing a wealth of reliable and solid information on China. With illustrations, maps, tables, ample indices and bibliographies.
- Historical Dictionary of Medieval ChinaThe history of medieval China is related through the book's introductory essay, maps, a table of Dynastic Periods, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on key people, historical geography, arts, institutions, events, and other important terms.
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views of the World's newest and oldest global power = [Zhonghua quan shu : kua yue li shi he xian dai, shen shi zui xin he zui gu lao de quan qiu da guo]Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from Adoption and Banking to Wound Literature and the Zhou Dynasty. Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China today.
Religion:
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB) This link opens in a new windowPan-Buddhist compilation of Chinese logograph-based terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism This link opens in a new windowThe Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices, schools and sects. Entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, history, forms in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism blends with other religions.
- Oxford Handbook of Religion and the ArtsRanging from music and poetry to architecture and film, the Handbook crosses the boundaries of different faiths and art forms to survey established and pioneering voices within the field.
- Brill's Encyclopedia of HinduismPart of the Handbook of Oriental Studies, Section 2: South Asia (HO2), which publishes scholarly reference works, bibliographies, and research tools pertaining to the political, economic, social, linguistic, and religious history of the Indian subcontinent.
Library Perks
- Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
