Contains literary criticism, full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present, and reference sources (biographies, bibliographies, companions, and encyclopedias & dictionaries). Searches the Annual Bibliography of Language and Literature (ABELL), and links to JSTOR and Project Muse.
ProQuest is a general database (covers many disciplines and subject areas). It provides citations to books, book chapters, journal articles, magazine & newspaper articles including historical newspapers, dissertations, and other sources. Date coverage varies by title.
Archive of scholarly journal articles in full-text. Use Advanced Search to narrow by discipline, item type, and/or publication title. Does not include recent years for many journals; date coverage varies by title.
Literary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Serves as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Includes Art History, Cinema & Media Studies, Jewish Studies, Literary & Critical Theory, and Philosophy.
Comprehensive resource for art literature. Indexes and abstracts articles from art related periodicals published throughout the world. Covers archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museum studies, photography & films, and related subjects. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals beginning in 1997.
Use this database to locate original film reviews published opening night. Indexes magazine & newspaper articles including historical newspapers with film, theater, and television reviews. Date coverage varies by title. Filter by Document type "Review".
Includes the following newspaper archives: Boston Globe (1872 - 1988), Chicago Tribune (1849 - 2011), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2006), Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999), Los Angeles Times (1881 - 2011), Nashville Tennessean (1812-2002), New York Tribune / Herald -Tribune (1841 - 1962), New York Times (1851 - 2014), Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2002), and Washington Post (1877 - 2003).
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.